Introduction as well as First Post

Hey Steemit


IMG_0480-512.JPG


My name is Michael. Let me start out by telling you a little bit about my cryptocurrency journey. I first heard about Bitcoin in 2012 from reading an article in the June 2012 issue of the magazine IEEE Spectrum. I thought about the possibility of learning more about Bitcoin and mining it but decided against it and I wondered if I would later regret the decision. In 2013/2014 I had a hiking buddy who was into crypto and had miners in his house. He tried a little to get me interested in crypto and encouraged me to join his mining pool. But I was hesitant and never really got interested in it.

In June 2017, I started watching some videos about Bitcoin on YouTube. One YouTube channel in particular (Joe C.) inspired me to actually get started and I finally committed to getting into cryptocurrency. (Unfortunately since then for some reason he deleted his YouTube channel) I started by downloading a wallet and working the faucets just to get my hands dirty a little by creating a small portfolio of different cryptos for my wallet. Learning about the crypto world quickly became my new obsession.

During the past few months, I’ve found that there are so many different aspects of crypto to learn and discover. There is everything from understanding the technical stuff like the blockchain and smart contracts to learning about mining to researching different types of currencies and applications. It was not even until October 2017 that I discovered Steemit. I had actually come across articles on Steemit in the past just through googling stuff but I did not know what Steemit was. I now have a solid grasp of the basics of the crypto world but it seems like I continue to learn new things on a daily basis.


My username ninjamike is actually a nickname that my mailman gave me. I have a tendency to sneak up on people because I am light-footed and I often don’t announce my presence. Several times out of nowhere I showed up beside his truck to give him outgoing mail and I always ended up startling him.

I enjoy watching sports and I’m an amateur guitar player. I’ve been playing video games for almost 30 years. I have owned every Nintendo system except the Wii U and Switch though I do plan on getting a Switch in the future. I am a huge follower of the YouTube fitness community. Some of my favorite YouTube fitness channels are scooby1961, Steve Shaw, Team 3D, and of course Jason Genova. I work out 2-3 times a week. I mostly do pull-ups/chin-ups and dumbbell work.

I’ll admit I am a still a bit of a skeptic when it comes to individual currencies/protocols i.e. Bitcoin even Steemit. But I believe the basic ideas behind crypto, i.e. blockchain, decentralization, virtual cash, etc are here to stay.

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steem Community @ninjamike! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hey Mike! Welcome to Steemit community! I first heard about bitcoin in 2011 and thought to buy in, but didn't. Well, i wish i would :)

Hey! Thanks for the welcome. Yeah there are probably a lot of people that thought about or wanted to buy in but never did. Good luck and I’ll give you a follow.

Welcome - Steemit seems like the biggest cryptocurrency obsessed community ever so you should fit right in!

Lol yeah it already seems that way to me. Probably because most non crypto people have never heard of Steemit before. I wonder if there will come a day when everyone and their mom has a Steemit.

I tried to get my mum set up on Steemit - she hasn't used it yet! I'm sure it will become a lot more popular for sure, but I'#m guessing the format might expand to cater for more diverse people.

Hey Mike, what a great introducion. I am hoping for some nice content from you. So I followed. Just keep it all up. ;)

Thanks, I hope to read some nice content from you as well. :)

what up @ninjamike! sweet name by the way lol. I too recently got started in crypto over the past 9 months. ive been able to start a nice portfolio but wish I would have started early on! Could have been quite nicely right now. But... no need to dwell in the past. the future is looking good! welcome to this awesome community and try to interact with the new people in introduceyourself as well as the influencers who have high ranking and steem power. both will help grow your followers and get higher payouts. im giving you an upvote and follow! Wish you much success!

Whats happening! Yeah that’s always good advice no need to dwell in the past. Getting in earlier wouldn’t necessarily have worked out that great anyway. I’ve heard about people who bought Bitcoin early on and by the time it reached $100 they thought they had made a killing and sold all their Bitcoin. Anyway thanks for the tips and I’ll follow you as well. I wish you good luck here.

welcome to steemit dear michael...how is cryptocurrency world...i am also a new member and wish you success here. let us keep it original and work towards getting to the top... lets support one another....
wishing us success here.... welcome

Thanks! Welcome to you too. I’ll always keep my content original and personal. Wish you good luck here and I’ll give you a follow.

Congratulations @ninjamike! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to steemit @ninjamike
bitcoin it's so interested.
i hope your enjoy this community . :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64041.25
ETH 2762.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66