I'm Nicole and I'm new to steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello, everyone! My name is Nicole Galhardi, and I'm new to steemit!

A friend of mine introduced me to this website after I helped him translate one of his posts. He explained to me all about this engaging and wonderful community! I was thrilled and decided to be a part of it! If you have any tips/advice about this community, let me know in the comments! I appreciate your support and interest. Thank you very much! This post might be lengthy, but I'm just excited to meet you all!

Let me tell you a little bit about myself, so you can gain some insight, regarding the content you will be reading from me. I'm 19 years old and was born in Venezuela; however, I'm currently living in Australia. I'm an author, artist and aspiring scientist.

When I was 15 years old, I had to take a year off school due to some unfortunate circumstances. I had always been a high-achieving student and loved studying, so not going to school for a year was a compelling challenge. I decided, nonetheless, that I was going to invest that time. I didn't know how, but I knew I had to. I owed it to myself.
Before this break from school, I had become almost obsessed with reading. I was the person that always had a book in her hands. And so, I started to write fiction. It was fun, challenging, tiresome and provoking... all at once. I loved every second of it! So much work paid off at the end, as I completed my first book less than a year later. This book is titled "Mundo en Llamas" (World on Fire) and was published in January this year, thanks to my mother's support.

foto1.jpg

I still consider that year as one of the most productive of my life. I procrastinated, of course, but I got so tired of it. I was fed up with doing nothing. I also discovered, by accident, that I had some promising artistic skills. One day I went with my aunt to wash the car. I happened to have a notebook and a pencil with me, so, out of boredom, I picked a random picture off my phone and tried to draw it. It was a Vegeta (yes, from Dragon Ball) picture. I was shocked when I saw the final result. It didn't look bad at all! It was pretty close to the original photo. After that, I became immersed in art, trying to perfect my skills the most that I could. Today I still do it as a hobby, but I'm thinking about getting some profit out of it.

Once I came to Australia, things got interesting! I finished high school here. The first couple of months were rough and somewhat frustrating. However, I achieved an ATAR of 93.60, two academic scholarships and one accommodation scholarship to study Advanced Science (Biomolecular Physics) (Honours) or Bionanotechnology (Honours). This is something I'm very proud of! It was all worth it because I will never forget the look on my mom's eyes. I was so happy that I was able to honour all of her sacrifices. She is a badass in every sense of the word. We spent 3 years apart. She worked hard every single day to provide for my future. I'm so grateful that she's with me.

This is us!
nosotras.jpg

Love her so much!

I'll be writing about art, writing tips, Venezuelan issues, politics, short stories, Spanish, langauges, among other stuff.
Thank you so much for reading this! And I hope you enjoy the content I'll be sharing!

Some examples of the drawings I've done:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BmA2ApYFvUh/?hl=en&taken-by=nikolee.gal
https://www.instagram.com/p/Bl6p23glJNH/?hl=en&taken-by=nikolee.gal

And my Instagram profile! (I created this account only 2 weeks ago)
https://www.instagram.com/nikolee.gal/?hl=en

Sort:  

Hello nikolee.gal! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Love the Groot shirt.
Welcome to Steemit

Thank you very much! Yes, hahaha I forgot I had it on. Love him

Yeah, feel the same ;-)

Hello Nicole. Welcome to Steemit.

Thanks! Glad to be here :)

so from what i read, you have brains, and beauty, thats a deadly combo :) welcome to steemit

Hahaha thank you very much! I'm excited to be part of this community :) All the best!

Welcome to Steemit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much! I'm happy to be here :)

You're welcome. All the best.


Welcome to Steemit @nikolee.gal!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hola, soy @snmelinger y me gusta el contenido de tu publicación, por lo que has recibido un Upvote del equipo de curación de @snmelinger, encargado de apoyar y promover el contenido original en español, con la misión y visión de crecer en comunidad. Mi objetivo es buscar el éxito de forma conjunta, apoyando a todas aquellas personas que inician en Steemit y que generan contenido de gran valor. El equipo de curación de @snmelinger tiene actualmente las siguientes cuentas: @snmelinger, @chistes,@humorcolombiano, @humor-colombiano, @humor.colombiano, @futbol, @deportes, @tecnologia, @famosos, @futbolstars, @ciencia, @excitedlove, @adivinapoesia, @valdiplays, @fichajes, @bulldoglife, @gamerfifa, @julianedit, @soliangi, @hojaraskita y @leidymar. Si quieres unirte a mi equipo de curación agrégame a mi cuenta de facebook y te explicaré cómo: https://www.facebook.com/daniel.chaconramirez También puedes unirte al siguiente grupo de facebook para promocionar tus posts de steemit: https://www.facebook.com/groups/STEEMIT.latinoamerica.nuevaredsocial/

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Dear, Welcome to the amazing world of Writing and Sharing . Make sure to post only Original content, In case of any question feel free to drop in to me...Have a Blessed & Happy Stay.....Steem on !!

@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I really appreciate it :)

Awesome well welcome! are you still working on your craft as an artist?

Awesome well welcome!
Are you still working on your
Craft as an artist?

                 - jojowill


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hi! I am indeed. I believe that you never stop improving as long as you keep practising!
Thank you!

That is awesome!! Cool look forward to seeing your works!

Thank you! Feel free to check my Instagram if you want. I have a few works there: https://www.instagram.com/nikolee.gal/?hl=en
The account has been active for 2 weeks only :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46