Hello Steemit! Looking forward to an exciting journey...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My name is Nick Daws and I'm a professional freelance writer and editor living in Burntwood, Staffordshire, England. I reached 60 on my last birthday, so I'm guessing I'm a little older than the average around here...

I've written over 100 books, mostly non-fiction, on topics ranging from advertising for small businesses to children's party games. I've also written a lot for electronic media, including the scripts for Cyberbabe and Cyberboyfriend (not as racy as they sound) and an introduction to an online game called The Legend of Doom Island.

Online I am probably best known for the series of courses I wrote for electronic publishers The WCCL Network, including Write Any Book in Under 28 Days and Essential English for Authors. I have also written other content for WCCL, some of it (e.g. self-hypnosis scripts) under pen-names.

Here's a photo of me taken last year in a friend's garden...

enter image description here

I enjoy working with other writers and aspiring writers, and helping them to fulfill their ambitions. I was a founder member of the online writing forum myWritersCircle.com and managed it for almost 10 years. I ran the companion My Writing Blog during this time too, on which I shared tips, advice and information for writers. The blog has now reverted to its owners, WCCL, and is no longer being updated. The forum is still thriving, though!

The last few years haven't been easy for me. In 2013 my long-term partner Jayne passed away after a long battle with breast cancer. Then last year I was diagnosed with prostate cancer. I was treated with hormone therapy and radiotherapy, and touch wood the cancer is now in remission. Long may it stay that way!

I have had some wonderful support during the last few years from colleagues, friends and relatives. Here's a picture of me with two of my closest friends, Simon and Frances, at a coffee shop in Kings Heath, Birmingham. Time spent with good friends is so precious, isn't it?

enter image description here

These days I am semi-retired, but I still write reviews and articles about home-business opportunities for the UK-based More Money Review website (do check it out). I also run the Entrepreneur Writer blog, where I continue to share writing tips, advice and information.

I also write some fiction, e.g. my self-published comedy sci-fi novella The Festival on Lyris Five. Here's my recently updated cover image...

enter image description here

I am intrigued by Steemit, and look forward to learning more about this exciting new platform for content creators.

Good luck to everyone who is embarking with me on this exciting journey!

#introduceyourself #steemit #newbie #writing #verification

Sort:  

wellcome

Nick! It is so nice to have you here, is there any way you could provide some sort of verification via a photo with you and a picture of the Steem logo or twitter? Again, great to have you here :)

Verification as requested!

enter image description here

Thanks for the warm welcome! I'll try and sort out some sort of verification as requested. Bear with me :-)

Congratulations @nikkd! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nikkd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58