Hi all - I'm Nicky and I'm a travel addict

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemians, let me introduce myself!

I've been lurking in this new platform for a couple of weeks and I love it already! I have followed some people and I've read a bunch of really informative and/or fun posts, but being a chronic procrastinator and a multi-tasker, I delayed writing this first introductory post.

Well, here goes!

21122491_10155723436467300_235292706364298195_o.jpg
Sea-front at my beautiful, romantic hometown - Thessaloniki, Greece

For the past 7 years I have been living, studying and working abroad. I've lived in the UK for 1.5 years, where I obtained an MSc in Astrophysics. Then my serial expat life began. First in a tiny Gulf country that I'd never heard of before; the Kingdom of Bahrain. I spent 2 years there, teaching Science in an International School.

Then, my boyfriend and I went off backpacking in southeast Asia and ended up moving to Bangkok, Thailand, for 3 years. Again I found a job in a school, teaching Science and Physics. Life has been good there, but I got itchy feet and needed a change. So I'm back home now, figuring out the next step.

20141230_193608~2.jpg
Chilling in a hammock is what one does in a Thai island - during a school break

I caught the travel bug when I was 15 years old and my parents took me to a trip in Israel. Everything was new to my senses! The colors, the desert, the sounds and smells... I felt like I was visiting another planet.

Since then, my life's biggest dream is to experience every place on this vast and beautiful planet (and beyond if I get to travel to space in this lifetime!), travel mindfully and spread awareness of various cultures. As humans collectively, there's more that unites us than divides us, and it's eye-opening to see that human nature is the same whatever part of the world you find yourself in.

travel-quote1.jpg

Transition to a location-independence lifestyle

Well, teaching provides you with an actual salary (necessary to save up for traveling) and lots of vacation days. So it's not like your typical 9-5 drudgery, but it's not that flexible either. So far I've managed to visit lots of the surrounding countries when I was working in Bahrain and Thailand, and teaching had its fun and rewarding moments, but I cannot do this indefinitely - even if I can continue life as a serial expat and teach in different countries - I crave more freedom!

So, I am embarking on a journey to location independence. Travel whenever I want to and not on somebody else's schedule, while being able to earn money online.

As I am an advocate of slow travel, my ideal would be to stay put in a place for a few months and work hard while exploring the culture and country, and then take a few months off to enjoy traveling without having to worry about the logistics of constant moving, like where can I find a place with good Wi-Fi to work from.

Yeah, I guess I wanna try life as a digital nomad for the next years and see where it takes me!

20151229_103008_HDR.jpg
On a boat trip in southern Thailand - I'm happiest when I travel!

I am passionate about traveling (can't you tell already?), hiking and nature, reading and writing, astronomy, ancient civilizations and psychology.
And I love coffee.
And wine!

PrasatMuangTam.jpg
I love exploring ancient ruins and
learning about past civilizations!
This is Prasat Muang Tam in Thailand


  • My motto: Life is a Journey.
  • My favorite movies: Into the Wild, the Way, Lord of the Rings
  • My favorite music: Heavy/Melodic Death metal \m/ and melodic Psytrance
  • My favorite books: Vagabonding (my Travel Bible from Rolf Potts), Wheel of Time (fantasy series from Robert Jordan/Sanderson), Siddhartha and Steppenwolfe (Hermann Hesse), and the Power of Now (Eckhart Tolle)

  • If you want to know more about me, please visit my websites:
    http://www.aneternalwanderlust.com

    http://www.laptoplivingfree.siterubix.com

    And connect with me on Social Media:
    https://www.instagram.com/nicky_wanderlust_

    https://www.facebook.com/nickywanderlust

    Looking forward to being a contributing part of this community, and learn more about cryptocurrencies and investing while on it!
    Happy Steeming :)

    Sort:  

    Hey Nicky - sounds like you live quite an awesome life :)
    Welcome to steemit! I I guess you can find other digital nomads here as well! One thing stayed hidden for me - where do you originally come from?
    Btw, I resteemed you via @welcoming - you can find other promising newbies there as well! Greets!

    EDIT: Sry, I didn't mean to upvote this comment, was a missklick, the vote should have gone to your post - Upvoting your own comments is something you shouldn't do on a regular basis - Take this as a negative example^^

    Hi @theaustrianguy! I am also a digital nomad :) Do you think there is a community of these kind of people here on Steemit? Do you use any tags related to digi-nomadism? Thank you, greetings from Mexico!

    Hi @theaustrianguy, thanks for the warm welcome! Yes I'd like to connect here on Steemit with more digital nomads that are already on the road and generating a full-time income. I still have a year to go until I could support myself fully by working online.

    It takes work and effort, but the prize of freedom - financially and location-wise - is totally worth it!

    Thanks for the resteem too!
    Btw I'm from beautiful Greece :)

    Welcome to Steemit!

    Welcome to Steem @nicky33 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

    Thank you for the welcome and for the tip!

    @Nicky33,

    This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curator team!

    Please Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

    You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

    Welcome to the Steemit platform! It's a great place to share your original content!

    Please reply, and I will share your intro to the @OCD Curators, which may get your post some extra views and rewards!

    Hi @ma1neevent, thanks for the warm welcome and the offer - I accept sharing my post :)
    This platform is surely a special place! I followed you and the OCD curator team.
    Keep up the good work!

    Welcome to Steemit Nicky! Very nice introduction :) I am also a nature-loving, travel-adict digital nomad who mostly write about these topics. I think we can support each other ;) Followed you.

    Hi fellow nomad @phortun, glad to connect with you here on Steemit and thanks for the follow, followed you back :)

    Czech Republic is one of my favorite European countries, I wish I could be in Prague this winter for the Christmas markets! I have only been during the summer but it must be pretty beautiful in every other season too.

    How do you find life in Mexico? I'm going through your blog posts and I like what I see so far!

    Thank you for your feedback @nicky33 :) Yeah, Prague is beautiful in winter. Glad you checked my posts, I am a newbie here too so there is not much to see yet but I have a lot of stuff to post in future. We totally fell in love with Mexico, thats why we are still here :D Have a great day and I am looking forward to reading your blog!

    Hi, welcome to seemit. Nice intro post, I'm looking forward to following your digital nomad lifestyle!

    Hi and thanks, followed you back. Nice to connect with you on Steemit!

    Welcome nicky33, I hope you enjoy things and have fun posting.

    Thank you for sharing about your travels with us. I felt like I went somewhere too!

    Hi @nicky33! so happy to find you here. I love connecting with like minded people from all over the world. I will follow you and I hope you do the same so we can stay connected :)

    Hi @jasnadao, happy to connect with you here too! Followed you back, lets stay connected :)

    Welcome to the jungle

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.16
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.027
    BTC 60690.86
    ETH 2905.70
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.39