Introducing Nick Travers

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

imagesCAKP1GDZ.jpg
Hi steempunks, my name is Nick Travers, and I live in the UK. I’m an author, currently writing a series of dystopian steampunk novels for young adults. I will be serialising a few of my free novels on Steemit – as they are free elsewhere they will also be free on here (declined payout). If you like what I write you can always upvote one of my live blogs.

I will be blogging about my passion, which is fiction writing, and sharing some of the creative writing techniques and hacks I have learned over the years. I hope at least a few of the community find them useful. There might also be the odd blog about steampunk.

I’m not sure Steemians are a natural audience for my current works, cyberpunk seem more your style, but I do have a few ideas of stories which might play out well on this platform. If they do, I could even compile them into a book and publish them elsewhere. Mainly, I’m just here to have fun with my writing.

As a writer, I’m also an observer of human nature. An open source anarchistic community like Steemit is a fascinating experiment in community, so you may also find me commenting on this from time to time.

Although I am not a programmer, I’m fascinated by blockchain technology as it has the potential to transform the world, especially in the realm of corporate contracts. Having the opportunity to enter this crypto world, through blogging, sounds like a dream come true for a content writer. Steemit is a really exciting project and I’m eager to learn more and am looking forward to engaging with the community and making new friends.

To wet your appetite, I leave you with a book trailer I threw together for my free novel 'Gaias' Brood' which will be serialised here:

Sort:  

Welcome :) If you are interested in art history, you should take a look at my page.
@atakanoz

Thank you @atakanoz I will be sure to check it out.
Nick

You're very welcome here at Steemit! :)

Thank you, much obliged.
Nick

Welcome to steemit :) Love to see an trailer for a book - awesome! However if you plan to release the story on steemit (which you should!), than I would publish the video on @dtube, steem's youtube ;)
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising newcomers!
Greets!

Thank you @theaustrianguy, I will check out both, and thank you for resteeming.
Upvoted and followed.
Nick

Hello and welcome. Although I prefer Victorian England steampunk stories, your video was very enticing, so I'm certainly going to chase up a copy of the book to check out.

You may like to join in the steempunk-net game fun here, and you'll find us in the steempunknet discord channel. You'd be most welcome. :)

enter image description here

Thank you @ravenruis, Gaia's Brood is available for download from my website nicktraversauthor.com. I will check out steempunknet.
Upvoted & followed.
Nick

Hello! Welcome here!

I hope you share a few tips, since I was thinking about trying a steampunk novel for this years Nanowrimo (but then wrote something else). That may help me! (Steampunk is not my genre normally).

Hi @lennstar, happy to help. Technically Steampunk is not a genre as it has no unique story beats, unlike say a love story or a revenge story. Steampunk is a setting, look, feel, and attitude, very much like the wild west. A story of any other genre can be given a steampunk setting. So choose your normal genre and give it a steampunk makeover. I tend to think the main attribute of any Steampunk story is the attitude of the main characters, if you can given them that angry 'I'm against the system' feel you are half way there.
Upvoted & followed.
Nick

Welcome to the Matrix. Dive on in. You'll be writing Steempunk here. :D

The irony has not escaped me.

Welcome at steemit 👋 I think you'll be right here.
As @ravenruis said before, you may like to join in the steempunk-net game fun here.

we develop a game which plays in the steampunk / cyberpunk genre.
you are cordially invited to visit us https://discord.gg/p2bUGCn

anyway, i wish you a lot fun here :-)

Hi @dehanne, thank you for the invitation, I will check it out.
Upvoted & followed.
Nick

You can find more of my posts, articles, and stories in My Steemit Library:

Alt text

Nick

(The link will take you away from Steemit.com, but the library links bring you back again)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22