Travel in time with NICK to January 2017. Meet lil Kingston!

Hello Steemians!

Forget DeLoreans. Time to take a trip to the not-so-long-ago.. January of this year to be exact! While I won't be doing TOO much more of this reblogging from my previous site, I hope you all appreciate that at the moment, it is more for personal reasons. I have come to realise that Steemit is an absolutely brilliant way to keep ideas, stories and photos for posterity. I don't plan on renewing my website and who knows where it will go once people aren't getting money to keep hosting it for me. That's the sad part about the internet.

Anyway.. maybe it's time to enjoy some of the goodness that was the 8th of January of 2017!

Note.. a sad heads up - Hayley's Pa is no longer with us. Perhaps riding rainbows? A mystery until we, ourselves arrive.

Hayley and Kingston.JPG
Hayley and Kingston

Wollongong has been a pain and refused to give me weather worthy of any decent photography. Why? Because it knew the fam was coming and had to squeeze as much bad weather out as possible before everyone arrived. Thankfully, since the 7th we have been reveling in (mostly) clear skies and glorious sunshine. During weather like this, it’s so easy to dash outside and forget the sunblock – rookie mistake!

Hayley’s Pa’s birthday attracted friends and relatives from far and wide- from us locals to family from Western Sydney and even from as far as Perth!

Little Kingston here (Hayley’s nephew), flew with Daddy (Dean) all the way from Perth. While we are in no hurry just yet to have any of our own, Hayley’s clearly a natural.

I think the woman Kingston decided to rest his head on as he chucked some zzzzzz’s in the plane must have had a soft spot for adorable children seeing as though she didn’t seem to make a fuss.

On top of the cute kid-ness, my two brothers and dad also made their way down from Newcastle and Mudgee (affectionately – “over the ranges”). This kind of thing happens once in a blue moon. Thankfully, the boys are just a one minute walk down from our apartment (no, I’m not kidding!) and they’re going to be here for a week. That’s a solid amount of time to get in some fun stuff like Jamberoo Action Park, a few hikes up to the local escarpment summits and inter-family catch-ups. Yay!

Last night, Dad and the boys meandered up to our apartment – not before a quick trip to First Choice for some drinks. Word of warning – don’t bother bringing in teenagers into a liquor store unless you’re not planning on buying alcohol. We learned that through experience. So, we just trotted 100m down to Dan Murphy’s, left the boys outside (not before sarcastically blabbing, “So, boys – vodka or bourbon?”) and walking back out with my coveted Cascade six pack. After we all scoffed Hayley’s delicious red sauce pasta and garlic bread, talk about our upcoming trip to Singapore floated on our lips. Dad, once again brought up his trip to France with his mates (because MEMORIES!) and whet our travel-appetites for a trip to the land of the Bourgeoisie and Croissants (I’m certain, somewhere makes a delish vegan version).

So it’s time to admit I’m also a sucker for LEGO and cartoons. While time, space and money limit my LEGO consumption, I don’t have as many barriers to consuming cartoons. While my brothers and I fell down a rabbit hole of Regular Show quotes and introducing me to Rick and Morty, Dad drifted elsewhere. I get it. I just never grew up.

The evening came to an end and everyone left. I decided to teach the kitchen who was boss. Many 90’s and early 2000’s Jamiroquai tunes, and two red eyes later, my mission was complete.

Washing up Jan 2017.JPG
Success with menial tasks is still success.

Well that's that wrapped up! If you've read this far, THANK YOU. There is no bigger privilege than having someone take the time out of their day to read a complete stranger's post.

If you've decided that my effort was worth an upvote, please click that 'upvote'. If you've got something to add or ask, comment and I'll get back to you. Having an audience that interacts with me is phenomenal. Let's keep it going.

Lastly, (forgive me) if you find what I talk about even remotely interesting - please follow me. Urrrrk. Was that blatant and forced enough? As an Australian, I find myself part of a culture that don't like asking for things. I'll try to keep that sort of thing to a minimum.

All the very best,
Nick

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Nick !

Hey!
Great to know more about you from your introduction. Looking forward to reading what you have to share, Upvoted and Followed!
(Follow me back and together we can improve the community at Steemit.)

Hey, thanks for the support. I agree that the Steemit community requires some improvement. It will definitely happen over time. All we can do is work hard to provide ongoing, interesting material to the site.

Cheers,
Nick

Thats' a nice intro, I wish you all the luck on the platform! Do you want to exchange many upvotes? visit: https://steemfollower.com/?r=346

Thanks, Panda :)

very nice and i upvotes and following me please follow me

I appreciate the time you took to read the post. Do you have any suggestions for further posts?

enjoy my upvote now

cute baby visit my blog gold bangles

Thanks for visiting!

I am Groot! :D

Welcome to steemit. followed n upvoted

Thanks for your support!

Thanks! Was there anything in particular you enjoyed about the article?

Nick

Welcome to steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50