Hello world!

20180114_190035.jpg

So I guess I should introduce myself!

I'm Nici. It's interesting how we choose to introduce ourselves. Which do I put first? My occupation? My family role?

As a pretty philosophical person I tend to deep dive into these sorts of questions so instead I'll say who I am.

I'm a happy, quirky, silly, fun loving kind of person.
I love life. With all it's ups and downs, challenges and successes. I'm a massive advocate of living in the moment and being as present in your day as you can be.

Life is a pretty amazing rollercoaster when you raise your arms up and enjoy the ride. Yes there are dips, there are loop the loops, there are terrifying twists and turns, there are slow lulls in the silence. But not one of those parts of the rollercoaster lasts for long, before you are on to the next piece of the track.

I home educate my 4 children. It's not something I ever intended on doing. In fact I was a 'work in an office 9-5' kind of person until my third son was born. He was extremely unwell for the first few years of his life and the blessing of having him? Helped me to reassess what life could be about if I chose it.

All of my 3 older children went to school until December 2014 when it became completely clear to me that the current education system could not support that son of mine. As I further assessed, I saw the struggle I had been through with my eldest son for 11 years- trying to get the support he needed for his additional needs too.

And so, we embarked upon the adventure known as home education. My daughter then decided to join us a year later and my youngest, at 4, has never been to school.

Home education didn't feel like a choice I embraced, but rather one that I felt was the only option left, to ensure my children could learn and grow as they needed to. They couldnt fit the education box, so we threw the box away and embraced independent life learning instead. I have to say, I hadn't been sure. I still have my wobbles now! But what I do know is that I have happy, healthy, strong children who learn and grow daily, into the people they want to be. (Whatever that may be on a daily basis!)

I am also a wife to my pretty awesome electrician husband, who works very hard to ensure we can afford to home educate.

Alongside this frankly chaotic rollercoaster, I am a wellbeing and spiritual coach and mentor. I assist people in understanding their passions and interests, in helping them find where they fit in the spiritual and philosophical community and I also provide workshops and therapy sessions on being mindful, meditation, working through self limiting beliefs, diving through fear and daring them to be the best and happiest version of themselves in the moment.

As if this wasn't enough to keep me busy I also run a local, spiritual and holistic community group once a week, providing an 'in person' space for people to attend and be with like minded friends over a cup of tea.

I'm vegan and love to cook! I love colourful plates of amazing plant based foods and enjoy trying out all kinds if recipes and concoctions in the kitchen. (I also love chips. Balance in everything!) I firmly believe plants and herbs are medicine and I love to eat well, using herbs and spices for cooking as well as for healing and encouraging this body to do what it's supposed to do.

So that's me. Passionate about wellbeing. Passionate about home education. Passionate about my family. Passionate about people. Passionate about the planet. Passionate about animals and humans and the world. Passionate about love, happiness, accepting the ups and downs and embracing ourselves as being the best we can be in each moment.

Sort:  

Welcome! Enjoy the Steemit community!

Hi Nici! Welcome to Steemit ! Nice intro post!

Thanks so much! My 14 year old son is currently at college doing video game design and media studies, while building his own pc. He's extremely interested in computer sciences so have given you a follow.

Hi Nici and welcome to Steemit!

Nici, my mom homeschool me and my 3 siblings in Oregon. Love animals. Good work with educating your 4 children, same number as my family. Philosophy does come in handy when it comes to trying to gain some perspective or in trying to be persuasive in debates, in negotiations in life. And passion sure is a fire that makes life more interesting. I'm Oatmeal. Upvoted. Resteemed. Liked. Shared. Thanks for coming to Steemit. Oh, spirituality sure does help people find balance. Good work.

Nice to meet you.
Welcome to this great family.
I hope you're going to make a lot of success in this great community.
Please UPVOTE and Follow.
I wish you all the best !!!

Thanks for the warm welcome! Finding my way around slowly

Welcome to steemit, my greetings from Aceh-Indonesia

hi. welcome to steemit family. Keep blogging :)
feel free to follow me..thanks

Welcome to steemit @nicigorman, get a great post. Make dreams come true and good luck. My best regards @jamilfian.

Welcome to Steemit. Thanks for sharing your self to us.

welcome to steemit !! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51