Heyy, new here, introducing myself a little bit !

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Steemitimg.jpg

Hello everyone ! Hope you're having a fantastic day :D

My name is Jonathan, I'm 25 years old and I'm from Italy: the land of pizza, mozzarella, mafia, Renzi and his legendary "naw it's the taim for lunch" (tuscanized english should be considered illegal btw).
I love nature, mountain biking, philosophy, psychology, physics, and most of all, critical and creative thinking.
On my spare time I also play some videogames, although not so much lately.
Games such as the (in)famous League of Legends and the less famous Planetside2 are my go to, but I also play Space Engineers and Stellaris on some occasions.
I'm the typical chill guy, I'm quite an introvert person, and I'm very tied up to ideals.
I often take things lightly tho, but in a healthy way, and I hate being too serious: I believe there's a balance, an equilibrium, to be followed, at least for me.

I first came across Steemit while doing some research on cryptocurrencies.
I find it a great project, as its foundation is actual content, rather than the value people give to the currency itself, meaning that there's something there, something that is not subjective, not an opinion and not something purely abstract, so to speak: it's real, it's the effort of people trying to put together articles and generally speaking, trying to share knowledge, adventures, art, and even more generally speaking, real things.
I'm aware that this is just my opinion: I'm not saying it's the truth or anything, but I stand firm in believing that we're sitting on something solid, contrary to a lot of other cryptos, which count on people's opinions and the value they themself attribute to that specific currency. (This is not the case for every currency, and it's not accurate either, but I find this way of describing it the most appropriate for an introduction post).
Some may argue that if you have a lot of abstraction and you cramp it up to a tight space you end up with something solid, which I believe is kinda true, but...let's just say that I see them as risky, contrary to what we have here

The reason I signed up is because I saw Steemit as a Facebook 2.0, actually maybe 3.0 or even higher tier.
I never actually enjoyed being on Facebook: the only thing I liked about it is that it connected people; Steemit does it better, and it allows people to do much more.
It allows everyone to open up a window of their life and have others take a look in, but it allows them to do so in a much healthier way: by sharing what's important and articulating it, making it possible to explain and discuss stuff, rather than just posting a picture of it or writing a Facebook status.

I'll be writing articles about my opinions and ideas, trying to do some research on the topic in order to compare these to what reputable people/teams/etc think about it, complementing what I think to what science/the-knowledgeable-guys think.

Documents3.png
My Documents folder, the place where I put all my crazy ideas; if you want to have a closer look: Direct link to the image

I'll be mostly writing about philosophy, psychology and science in general, as I love to question everything and might have ideas worth sharing and discussing.
I'd also like to share some of my mountain bike trips I go to here in Tuscany (I'm not the best photographer, but I'll try to improve !).
Livestreaming some game session ? Sure, why not, I see there's a Livestream platform (DLive), which is great, so I'll likely be doing that soon too.

So yeah, this is something about me, and also some of the things you'll be seeing from me.
I've read a good part of the Steemit FAQs, so hopefully I'll not make any mistake in this little big adventure :)

Note: people spamming comments such as "Very good article very informative very good. Please help" will be greeted with crying cat pictures

Have a good one, and if you read up to here, thanks a lot for the patience ! See you around :)

265180_1921841799000_8068947_n.jpg
Oh, did I mention I love engineering ? This is a flamethrower I built 7/8 years ago, I called it Red October :D

Sort:  

Hello neversleep! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steem

Nice introduction Joe, how is Italy? welcome to steemit! I am @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


The link below is steemit frequent asked questions’ page, it may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

Let’s heal our world with genuine love and acceptance for one another.


Welcome to Steemit @neversleep!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to steem. There are also apps based on steem. let's eat, steepshot, dtube are some of them. Good to know someone who plays space engineering.

I'll have a look at those apps, I've heard about all the applications on the platform and I've seen many of them, still have to do some research on the topic
Oh yeah, I love it, got my 700 and something hours on it :D They're releasing the multiplayer update tomorrow by the way, I'm excited :3 It's going to fix a lot of the issues in multiplayer

That's great. Hope they fix for multicore processors

I and all steemit community warmly welcome you at this stage. Nice intro and Happy to meet you. Work hard .. our support is always with you. Best of luck dear

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Howdy howdy

Welcome. Check my posts for beginners guide.

Welcome to Steem, @neversleep!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3161 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55