Introducing Me - Video Game Developer, Video Game Player, Video Game Teacher

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Where does one start? - "Hello Steemits!"

I'm hoping this doesn't get to be too long winded of an introduction but hey I've got a fair bit to tell (I'd rather listen than talk though in a conversation).

I think you can see there is a theme in my title, Video Games..... I have been around these things for a long time. My first system was a Coleco Vision!

If you know what this is then you have been around for awhile too :) After awhile I graduated to a NES (not the small one you can buy in the stores now, the one you had to blow on the cartridges to get a game to work). From there my love for games was born and it carried on for many years.

After getting my Bachelors in Computer Science a group of friends decided to start a gaming company called IRD1. We managed to secure a PS2 developer kit and being the only programmer I had to write and learn a lot (making isn't as easy as playing). I learnt a lot while developing the game that never got released but still had a lot of fun (apparently the rendering engine that I wrote was almost as fast as Naught Dogs back then.....).

After a few years of going nowhere I decided to get a job (one that paid) but still in the gaming industry. I left my startup and joined Silicon Knights. I started as a Programmer and worked my way up to Project Director and published a few games (see below). The time there was amazing and challenging at times. It provided for me and my new family and allowed me to grow professionally.

Shipped Titles:

  • Metal Gear Solid - The Twin Snakes (GameCube)
  • Too Human (XBOX360)
  • Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 (Multiple Platforms)
  • X-Men Destiny (Multiple Platforms)
  • Several unreleased titles.

While working a full time, being married and with my first born I decided to get my Masters in Computer Science. I started a planned 5 year part-time journey to obtain this accreditation (for no reason but to teach part-time). After 5 short years I finished and defended my thesis and managed to get published: https://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=2576768.2598210 All sounds good up till now eh!

(Thats the Canadian in me)

However, just before I actually finished my thesis, Silicon Knights closed and I was layed off (It was the first time in 25 years I wasn't working). It was at this point in time where I realized that I had been working 5 years on a MSc, had 12 years experience in the gaming industry and wasn't afraid to stand in front of a group of people and talk.

It's at this point in time that I decided to leave the gaming industry and join the academic. With all my experience as a programmer and game developer I felt that I could teach the next generation of game developers and thats where we are now.

I joined Sheridan College as a Professor in Applied Computing and now teach/Coordinate the Game Development - Advanced Programming post graduate certificate. I'll be honest, when I first started I wasn't sure if I would be doing this still, but 5 years later I don't see myself going back into the industry. I think I have found my place now and hope to keep doing this for many more years. I still develop stuff on the side for mobile and am working on a PC game, but with family top priority development and playing come second.

I decided to join Steemit after finding about the site through some investments in crypto. I don't post on other social media outlets much (almost never really) and felt that this might be somewhere I could find my place with a new group of people.

If you are interested in more about me or have some questions feel free to leave me a message. I'm be doing a videos (

) and blogs about stuff I'm working on or playing. Right now I'm doing a play-through of Cuphead on extreme so if you are interested in watching me get my a$$ handed to me check out my videos.

Cheers!
20140430_203523.jpg
William Barry

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/william-barry-4952482/

I'd like to make a shoutout to a fellow Steemit for help in getting me up and blogging with some good advice (I hope I followed it): @spenceryan

Sort:  

You're welcome :) and if you like fun facts, check out #emojitrivia

Some impressive titles there!
Welcome to the Steem World!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.


I wish you all the best here on Steem!

I will also use the tag : @originalworks for this post, this will summon a robot that, if you wrote this original article, will give you an additional upvote. :)

Awesome thanks @maneki-neko! Love the lucky Cat!!! This is as original as I can get. Took awhile to put that together and figure how to compress many years into something that is readable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70