For the Love of Making

()
Hello Steemit, I’m Ruth Frances Greenberg, a ceramic artist and am most known for my intricate and expressive mosaics. I’m mid-career having 25 years behind me and working with clay is still very alive for me. These days my professional life is consumed with making the most beautiful mosaics I can muster and defining more clearly what that means, reaching for mastery and more honest expression, and exploring whether I can make something just as beautiful for a lower price.

A special and uber talented friend @fairytalelife introduced me to Steemit and although I have so much to learn about this new framework, when I get these little glimpses of what’s possible, my mind takes a quantum leap….it is truly a NEW world.

Thank you and I look forward to discovering my place here!
I thought I’d begin with a mosaic I made this spring, a project I call:

IMMORTALIZING A FRENCHIE: The Making of the "Mighty Louis" Pool Mosaic
()

Households adore pets and naturally we want to immortalize our furry friends in art and décor. I have a special love for creating animals in clay, and last fall I had the chance to indulge this passion when my brother in law asked me to help surprise my sister with a mosaic pool medallion of their beloved French Bulldog, Louis.

()
The center of the family, this extraordinary, big hearted Frenchie required a regal portrait. Louis is a really small French Bulldog. Frenchies are small but he was the runt of the litter yet somehow he is a large presence and has no idea he’s small, he has nothing to prove, he just IS. People stare at him walking down the streets of NYC nodding with half smiles as he charms them effortlessly with his magnetism and macho disposition.

()
This contemporary Montauk home has a timeless design with classic lines. It is nestled in a woodsy grove, teaming with wild turkeys and deer and is an oasis of peace. In the midst of renovation of their summer home, lead by architect (our father) I dove into this family project.

()
While drawing Louis, I came up with a pose that evokes ancient images of emperors. I chose symbolism for every element to express his personality including an infinity and love-knot border depicting how he is woven into the fabric of the family. My brother in law had excellent instincts about the color scheme choosing a graphic black and white palette to perfectly complement the design of the pool and home.
()
The next steps were for Rob and I to start mosaic making which begins with creating a life-size drawing showing all of the tile shapes and cuts. This drawing is the touchstone for the rest of the process; we cut the clay from it, we reassemble all of the glazed and fired pieces on top of it and refer to it at every turn to keep the bigger vision in mind as we work on the minutia.
() ()
These photos show the cutting from wet clay, glazing, the border tiles right out of the kiln.
()

()

()

And here "pre-setting" the tiles, the pieces of blue tape are all pieces that needed to be re-cut to fit better:
()

()

()

And voila, complete!!!
()

Now that it's finished, we take it apart in sections so it can be shipped and is simple and clear for the installer.
()

The mosaic, while having a noble presence, is balanced with the immediate context and larger natural landscape by the sea. At every stage, this project was enjoyable. I love working with my family and it is especially gratifying to know my family is and will actively enjoy and treasure the portrait for many years to come.

()

()

In the spring rain:
()

()

Thanks for your interest in my project, comment so I can see yours too!

Sort:  

Wow! What a great post and a big thank you for the sharing of your experience with us. It looks fantastic! It surely wakes up a few ideas in my mind... Namaste :)

glad to hear it, thank you!

Amazing AMAZING work @natureofbeing Love it. This brought back memories from back in high school and my awesome art teacher Mr Luebtow. Thanks again.
Full $teem Ahead!
@streetstyle

This is such a touching and moving story. Thank You for sharing this with the community. It is beautifully documented. A mini documentary really. What superb post and gorgeous project!!! Inspiring!!!

Not only is your friend special and uber talented. You are as well! Big props to you. Hope to see more from you soon

hey @natureofbeing nice to meet you and welcome to steemit !
i love your project so much 8]

Amazing work ceramic art is really one of the best and most popular art in the world. More work more concentration and more some extra time need to convert ceramic into a beautiful creation. Most welcome and best wishes for you here in Steemit community.

Thanks so much!

amazing mosaic.... really I like ur work @naturofbeing

@natureofbeing This is remarkable work. Your use of ceramics is breathtaking. It reminds me of the intricate stained glass found in the gothic cathedrals throughout Europe . If you have more projects to share I will be following.

art is a way of living, kudos to your way :)

There's my friend! Welcome. I'm so happy you are here with your beautiful work.

:-))))) thank you @fairytalelife, I'm so grateful for you!

It's your work! It must be seen! xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62891.03
ETH 3103.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89