You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story of My Life - Jeff Zavala at ZCreative Media

in #introduceyourself5 years ago

Welcome to Steemit! I used to be involved with indymedia way back... about 15 years ago! I didn't realise it was still going.
If I had any advice to give a new Steemian, especially one who is used to producing high-quality work, it's that Steemit is all about community. I've seen a lot of new Steemians get discouraged because their work doesn't immediately make an impact, but it's often about getting the attention of the right groups who resonate with you and can promote your work. I've noticed that you were featured by @ocd, which is a great start.

Sort:  

Thank you for the welcome! That's so cool to meet a fellow indymedia person! What was your experience like with the org? I was keeping Austin Indymedia alive as much a possible but it is pretty much out of steam now since it was all left up to me.

Thanks for the advice. I really appreciate it! Are there any particular groups you'd recommend for travel, fashion, social/environmental justice, etc?

Thank you!

I loved Indymedia at the time. It was around the time of the Iraq War, which I really objected to, and it helped me find local peace campaigning groups. I can't remember why I drifted away from it - maybe just because there were more groups appearing online to distract my attention, and also I'd been working from home as a freelance, and I got a full-time job in 2002, so I had less time for online browsing.
On Steemit, when I write a travel post I always post it to the Steemitworldmap.com. Just go to the website and it gives details on how to attach your post to the map. Your post will then get mentioned in their daily TravelDigest. You can also include #Travelfeed as a tag, which is another great curation stream.
I'm not aware of groups for fashion and social/environmental justice. Try doing searches under various tags for those subjects and see what comes up, or if you know of other Steemians who write on those issues, look at how they promote their work. Joining a generic group, like qurator, can be very helpful. You could launch your own curation trail too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68