Hello Steemit, Hello World!

Hello Steemit!

After a long (1 month) waiting for account approval it finally happened and I'm now part of the first social media platform that I would ever like to use! As I'm totally new and writing my first post I would like to share my thoughts with the community about the registration process.

What I would like to say is that the month long waiting period was probably the best thing that could happen to me before starting to use Steemit by myself. Why would you ask? Well to be honest there are more than one reasons.

First: I had time to do my homework and understand how exactly Steemit ecosystem works.

As everyone here knows it takes some time to really understand how Steemit really works I read many articles, watched videos and tried to understand the concept. Finally I somehow ended up on Andrew Levine youtube channel and watched this video. If anyone wants to understand how Steemit ecosystem works and whats the true potential of Steemit in the future I promise you that this 28 minutes will not be waste of your time.

Second: I had the access to Steemit and I could look around, read posts and understand what Steemit community really is about.

I read lots of interesting articles and saw beautiful images and while some of those posts had earned "big money" most of them hadn't made much anything. I also read lots of complete pointless stuff and saw really bad photos which had also earned "big money"

This really made me think about Steemit community in depth and what I concluded was that right now when Steemit is a young social network and community there are many people here using this network only to "hopefully earn some $$$."
And because Steemit is a young community you can right now make it without creating high value content. Many users just "spam" Steemit related stuff on their existing social media platforms (and of course on Steemit) in hope to get more upvotes and followers. I even saw video of a guy who had tens of thousands of followers on Youtube telling all his followers that whatever they post they should all use the same TAG and daily upvote all posts under that specific TAG so that they all would "win."

Don't get me wrong- there is nothing bad about people spreading the word about Steemit but some people seem desperate to generate content and then comment, upvote and use any other means possible to spread that content which has low value... This somehow reminds me early days of Instagram where everyone used heavily modified images with boarders and tilt shift etc... Nowadays you barely see over modified images with borders right? What was cool in the beginning seems cheap now. Creating high value content now means good composition, lightning, colors etc..

Third: I couldn't leave any comments!

While this might seem random It really is very essential to my point I'm trying to make. If I had my account approved in first 15 minutes I think I would have started doing exactly what I described above. I would have upvoted and commented everything possible and spam my own Steemit creations as much as possible but now I really don't see the point doing that. You see the World is full of people who are too busy to understand very essential things that's why we have poverty, hunger, wars, climate change etc. There is just too much information around us. I could spend centuries reading about other people diets or looking at pictures on Instagram or watching a game of football. And while I give my attention to those things I will quite surely miss really valuable information, knowledge and ideas while keeping my mind entertained with information of no value. So everyone who will ever read my very first post please listen to this poem by C.Bukowski and before creating a new post ask yourself "Does this, what I created have some real value?"

Hello World

To be honest with you this is my first "real" post that I've ever written to a social media network describing my own thoughts. Even thought you could say that I'm a social media "veteran" because I've been using Facebook for both personal and business for past 10 years I'm really not. During that 10 years I have maybe posted 2-3 pictures a year on my wall or shared some friends statuses but nothing else. Why you would ask? Well that's really simple I have ~1200 friends on my FB network. There are childhood friends, there are classmates, teachers, old brides, new brides, family, old friends and good old friends... Even though there are people on that list with whom I could meet 4 am in a random location and talk about Quantum theory or how we could save the World there are also people there with whom I would argue on every sentence because they know exactly how the World works, but really they are small minded individuals on whom I don't want to waste my energy. What I'm trying to say is that my social media network to this day has been a closed "circuit" with only selected people that I have allowed there. All of those people perceive me as my face, name and identity so I should be careful about what to say and that's why I haven't said anything. Until now :)

So to end this long first post all I want to say is that my name, gender, age or race doesn't matter. I don't want to be part of Steemit with my identity. I don't want to create posts about "me" I want to spread and share good ideas, beautiful images and beautiful thoughts I want to help other Steemit users and I want to be not just a content creator but- high quality content creator and that's what I'm here to do!

Sort:  

Hi @natoshisakomoto, Congratulations and Welcome to Steemit. I will follow you, please follow back. Thanks

Aaand you didn't even read my post :)

welcome natoshisakomoto! Glad to see your here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58392.35
ETH 2462.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37