You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing myself to Steemit

Welcome! There's tons here about homesteading. Most of what I'm doing was learned here. Some folks to follow:

@elfmyselfandi
@brockolopolis
@goldenoakfarm
@canadianrenegade
@sagescrub
@kafkanarchy84
@bobbleheadstead

Those folks keep it super relevant on gardening, permaculture, and self reliance.

I found your post because it was resteemed by @bobbleheadstead. I follow lots of folks on here that are into that process and am trying to implement as much of it as I can so that I can have my land support my family instead of us supporting our land. Of course it's cyclical, but if we only support a nice green lawn, that doesn't help us.

What are you growing/doing?
And where's the Sierra foothills?

Sort:  

I have like 300 homesteaders either on this account or @synergyu, I got from a post I don't have the link to right now. I'm going to check out these guys you listed though, because keeping it relevant goes a long way!

Sierra foothills where I live is Northern California. Between Sacramento and Tahoe -ish

@davidpantone ... Hey bro, We're both in the same neighborhood. I'm in Placerville.

@nateonsteemit I hear ya! No lawn for me. Thanks for the suggestions above. I'm following Bobbleheadstead. I'll be sure to check out everyone else. I'm in California. Basically right between Sacramento and Lake Tahoe.My garden at the moment is typical things: tomatoes, watermelon, peppers, etc... I'm growing pumpkins, sunflowers and okra for the first time. I'm really getting into aquaponics and I'm sure I'll be posting a lot about that as time goes on. Thanks again!

Ooh, nice! I've been wondering if we should Branch out into aquaponics. It'll be fun reading your future posts on it :) keep up the good work!

I was thinking the same thing about aquaponics and am doing a small test right now after being inspired by @farmer-g! I think it is definitely worth looking into.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85