Hi Steemit, my name is Nate Miller!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

nate profile pic 2.jpg

For the last 7 years I've basically lived in a cave, plus under a rock, and that rock was completely covered with bat shit.

I got out though.

You see, I'd been dealing with lifelong depression, arthritis, psoriasis, being a father, and losing my own father. I'm 35 now, but, because of these issues, I've felt old for years.

Somehow, I've managed to get control over most of these things (except for the death of my dad, I'm not a necromancer after all) and I've ended up in a very happy place with my life.

Except for one issue.

On September 1st, 2017, I lost my job. I took severance pay, cashed out my measly retirement fund, and went on unemployment.

When you file for unemployment here you have to attend three workshops focused on career training. They had one about entrepreneurship. I went and I loved it.

To maintain my unemployment insurance, I decided that I would apply for jobs in the art field and see what happened. Unfortunately, I haven't had any luck due to not having a proper portfolio or any work done for actual paying clients. That made me want to strike out on my own even more.

That's when I read a post on Medium.com from a 24 year old by the name of Thomas Kuegler who had just finished building a course called "Medium Mastery." He promised to show us how he made $500 in one month writing for Medium. Since it was the first time he was offering the course he only charged $200 for 5 Modules taught over 5 weeks.

I signed up immediately.

When I was in high school I fell in love with drawing. I gave it up when I went to college because I didn't believe it was possible to get paid to make art. So after 17 years of giving it up, and a newly deepened disdain for corporate America, I'm finally ready to try my hand at it.

I've been figuring it out as I go, art and business. Anything I need to learn, I learn it. Then I write about it for Medium.

In December 2017 I made $161.30. In January 2018 I made $476.53. I still can't believe it. I've never made this much money outside of a traditional 9 to 5, ever. Especially with my own creative work.

Recently I read an article on Medium that referenced Steem. I never bothered to look into Bitcoin, crypto, or any other anythings that dealt with blockchain. I'm a complete noob.

But I did some research on Steem and found out about Steemit and DTube. I love the concept and think the platform shows a ton of promise. So I came here to give it a shot.

This week I'm putting the finishing touches on my 2018 social media strategy for my art, writing, and video venture I've dubbed Nate Does Art.

Steemit and DTube are going to be part of that strategy.

I'm psyched and can't wait to meet everyone in this community. :)

-Nate Miller

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steem Nate

Loading...

Welcome to steemit @natedoesart. Enjoy your firstday by introducing yourself to the steemians! Godbless!☺️

Thank you renzill, happy to be here. :)

Welcome. It's not as easy to make money here as it seems, but at least it's a fun place to be! ;)

Thank you, I'm glad to hear it's fun! I'm here for that. I'm hoping my other ventures pay the bills. XD

Welcome to steemit @natedoesart!!

I follow You to read us ;)

Thank you homeginkit! Sure thing. ;)

welcome here wish you have a good time

Thank you! :)

Welcome Nate. We have a lot in common. Depression, arthritis and I took the health problems up a notch farther having a heart attack and triple bypass a few years back. I had been doing "art" in one medium or another all my life and finally finding myself retired early, and working now as a leather artist pretty much full time.

There are several good art chat spots here. I have been on the Discord one today.

I will follow you and throw you an upvote and I look forward to seeing what you have to share.

Please consider doing the same and visiting my little corner of Steemit and and saying Hi.

Again, Welcome.

Wow, a heart attack too? That’s too much, man. Sorry to hear that. Thanks for introducing yourself! I followed you. Please forgive me if I am slow or miss things as I’m still figuring this place out. I will come say hi as I can :)

Welcome, I was observing your information and I find it very interesting, you have my vote, I would like to share it with the whole community and support each other with the votes, I invite you to visit my blog so we can continue to grow and learn more every day, I wish success in Steemit.

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49