Hello. I am George. Happy to be here and share some adventures.

Where i come from:

Born in São Paulo i moved to Lisbon when four years old. With a short stop in Petershausen (Munich). Back to Germany at twelve, i went to school in a small town called Dorfen until ready to study microengineering in Freiburg. After that i moved around a little bit.
Passau -> Bad Oeynhausen -> Munich -> Mannheim -> Salzburg
Now i am moving again. To Augsburg.

George

If you hold a pistol to my head i would call earth my home and ask you to ease up a little.

What i play:

Everything.
I started with chess when i was five and won the Portuguese championships with nine. Without citizenship i was banned from playing the national championships after that, but got a FIDE greencard for the 1993 world youth championships in Bratislava. Short of trying to go pro i decided it just was not for me when i was fifteen and played it merely for fun from there on.

Card games are great, too. My favourites included Skat, Schafkopf and Bridge.
At the age of sixteen i discovered Poker and after some up and downs i decided to go pro in 2007. The ups and downs just got bigger.
Never specializing in one variation of Poker i played NLHE, PLO, Lowball, all Stud variations, and whatever else was the hype. Had some success online with it winning some SCOOP and WCOOP events.
In 2014 finally my competitive drive payed out and i won a couple of WSOP bracelets and the Player of the Year ranking.

To blow some fresh air into my brain i always loved electronic games. My favourites included Frogger, Das Schwarze Auge (also loved it as roleplaying), Starcraft, Diablo 3, LoL and Hearthstone.

Where i am going:

End of 2016 our baby girl was born and i decided to take a break from touring poker tournaments.
I decided to join a startup and found a nice project in fryd. We are building a gamification platform and games are kind of my thing so it fits perfectly. Learning a new skill in coding is a welcome change to the poker grind.

Since 2016 i try to follow the evolving of blockchain technologies and won't shy away from a little investment, when the opportunity and the value is there.
That is how i found steemit and boys and girls, it hit a sweet spot. My view on society and how capitalism has to be restructured to be viable is for another post to emerge, but micro-incetives to promote good content is solid.

I used to get all my online reading on reddit (AmA of a younger me, if you are looking for some poker related answers) and twitter, but the curation is getting worse and worse to the point where i can not tolerate it anymore. And i really hate facebook to the point where i just read and delete my personal notifications once every six months.

Now i feel confident that steemit is going to motivate me to interact a lot more again! It already started with this post.

George

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @nashequilibro ,
great Post !! Upvoted and Followed..

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you!:)
Enjoy your time here & Good Luck

Thank you. Nice to be here.

thanks for the reply. Will you write about Poker ? Make us all Poker Profs :-)
BTW - what is your preferred language after being around EVERWHERE...LOL

Yes i am going to write about poker. Not too much theory, more anecdotes. I am semi-retired.
I like english the best, because most people understand it. Happy with german and portuguese. Translation tools for the rest.

that sounds cool, looking forward to read your anecdotes, actually I have the same idea about writing funny stuff happened trolling around asia :)
Schöne Grüße aus ( derzeit ) Hamburg !

E ai bem vindo ! espero que voce aproveite aqui tanto quanto eu ! abs

Muito Obrigado.

Awesome dude. I love poker too.

You should create a Steemit Chat account. It's a great way to engage with the community.

Welcome to steemit nashequilibro, looking forward to your post. :-) Follow me for some interesting posts @prathyusha

Welcome to this fabulous community! I post about cryptos, economy, silver,etc. Please checkout my posts to see if they interest you and my policy is if you follow me I will follow you. Welcome again!

Hi @nashequilibro,
Welcome to the community!
Hope you will enjoy Seemit as much as most of us do, and will be an active participator of the community.
I must say I like your "hobbies". have been playing poker myself for a long time, here in the Netherlands, but also In Vegas. Followed you, I assume you have some awesome stories to tell!
Any questions let me know, like to help new Steemians with tips..
greetings @gindor

Thanks a lot. Poker was quite a job the last few years but still feels like a hobby. Definitely some stories to tell.

Bem vindo ao Steemit! Ainda mantém alguma ligação com São Paulo e o Brasil? Sucesso e boa sorte mais uma vez!

Infelizmente não visitei há 10 anos. A minha avó, que estive acostumado a visitar, mudou-se para Alemanha uns anos atrás e agora a ligação directa é menor.

10 anos não é muito tempo, tenho certeza que novas oportunidades para visitar o Brasil não faltarão. Sucesso e boa sorte mais uma vez!

Welcome to the community George, were glad that youre here. You made the right decision.

Thank You. Looks fun.

It is really fun :)

welcome to steemit, enjoy it here, you have a new follower !!

Thank You. Appreciate it.

you're welcome !!

Hi @nashquilibro your tweet finally convinced me to try steemit (Long time fan of yours, Amigos ftw!)

Now we only need to get Jan onboard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61