How I unplugged from L.A. to start making Bali my new home - Part 1

20170330_153510.jpg

Hi Steemians! This is your Mysticalgal!
This is my first Steemit post!!
\(^_^)/

I was born and raised in Iran. Spent the first 10 years of my childhood in the Iran-Iraq war running from shelter to shelter, dodging bombs and gunfire with my entire family. Then married young, had a dramatic divorce after 13 years. I put myself back together and decided to start over somewhere far away. Long story short, my dream was to leave that life behind and move to the U.S.A., which I finally did in Feb 2012.

Soon after, I realized the USA wasn't anything close to the "freedom," I pictured, instead it felt like a BIG FAT LIE in every way you can imagine. To make things even worse, a few years later the 2016 Presidential election happened. What a HUGE disappointment!!!! As Bernie supporters, my fiance' and I felt abused and cheated by the system, to the point that we decided to #travel, explore other parts of the world and get the hell outta the U.S for awhile. We chose BALI!!

20170222_210729.jpg

We found Bali to be peaceful, spiritual, beautiful and removed from most of the world's craziness. My fiance' is an award-winning animation director who created "Letter Beasties," a very innovative way of teaching English and math to early learners. It's a children's book, animation and, if all goes well, a global brand. The Letter Beasties and Number Beasties make learning so fun that kids don't even realize they're being taught! We're both entrepreneurs on a mission (and on a budget :)) doing what we can to make a better world for the next generation and generations to come. Oh, did I mention that along the way we discovered Bitcoin? In one word-- SOLD! All in! :))

Now you know a little bit about me. Recounting my life's ups and downs would take a 3000 page novel, at least.. we'll get there, one post at a time, with your support, of course.

I'll try to share everything we've faced (and are facing) on our journey from Los Angeles to Bali since the past year. The good, the bad, easy and difficult, happy and sad, bitter and sweet...just like the food out here :P
Your comments and thoughts are well appreciated...and your upvotes too, of course! :)

If you're still with me this far Thank You!...or as they say in Bali "Terima Kasih"

Love and light! <3
MysticalGal
20170410_162242.jpg

Sort:  

Look who's here ^^ @Mysticalgal, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

thanks! good to meet you :)

Welcome to Steemit! It's good time to start create Steemit better :)

thanks for reading my post! :)

Coming to the US for the freedom, yet votes for Bernie Sanders....sigh...

Hi, thanks for reading my first post! :)

Nice to meet you, @mysticalgal! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

nice to meet you too, I'll follow back! :)

Welcome to Steem @mysticalgal. Looking forward to reading your life experience on Steemit. You can find a lot of helpful information on this site that one of our community members built: https://www.steemithelp.net/

thanks for reading my post! nice to meet you here! :)

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you find this to be a great place to share your ideas and thoughts. Keep Steeming on!

thanks, glad to meet you here! :)

That's my love! So happy to be on this journey with you <3

love you more baby! the same here<3

Congratulations @mysticalgal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mysticalgal! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mysticalgal! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91