Hi Steemit this is my "introduce yourself"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Well hello to one and all.

I am just another normal guy with a not so normal past but that is irrelevant to who I am now. I am 30 years old already and that is scary to be honest. Have I accomplished much in these 30 years? Many people would say no but I disagree. I have a loving partner and an amazingly cheeky child who I adore more than the air I breath. Another on the way and hopefully it can stay the full term this time. I have traveled quite a bit and met many interesting people from all walks of life. Each with their own unique story to relate too.

I spent three years studying a board game called Go. It is actually one of the oldest board games in the world with its history stretching back more than 3000 years. I was watching an Anime called Hikaru no Go and thought it looked cool so I started playing. Managed to become the number one player in Ireland within a year and by the end of my time I had reached 6dan. Could hold my own against the vast majority of amateurs in Europe and the world. Even beat a couple pro's. I don't play much anymore but I am very proud of that time in my life but it did not exactly translate to any money making life skills.

I was 23 by then and still had found no true direction of where I wanted my life to go so I just drifted for a couple years. Partied and just tried to enjoy life and enjoy it I did. The only problem with floating through life is that I always felt empty. Knowing I am capable of doing anything I set my mind on and just choosing not too because it was easy. I had no real responsibility or need to improve myself so I just became a stagnant husk of man with a smile.

Then at 26 my partner got pregnant and it all changed. Suddenly living week to week was not good enough. I actually had something else worth trying for. Another persons future whom my actions would directly affect. So I needed a plan and I needed to be a role model but at this stage I had very few prospects other than minimum wage jobs or grow a shit ton of weed in the attic. None of those were particularly appealing to me and the latter would be morally questionable given its legal status here in Ireland.

So where does that leave me? I had zero euro in the bank, well closer to -10,000e that I owed for various loans to be spent on stupid stuff. Always told myself that is a future me problem. I kind of screwed myself over in that respect.

Then I found crypto. Numbers have always been quite easy for me. Working out fractions of a % in my head is child's play. So I started day trading with the thought all I need to do is be better than average to make a decent living. So I saved for nearly a year until Nathan was born. Learned everything I possibly could about charts and psychology. I quickly understood Crypto currencies at the time were highly speculative and moved by inference. People would infer value from other real world events and apply them to the cryptosphere. Needless to say I was good at it. Made enough to cover my loans and find us a nice house. Did not think it could ever end.

If only life was that easy!!

2018 came and the bubble burst. I knew it was coming and prepared myself. Liquidated everything. Put some away for when we bounce back in a couple months and lived life like a king for a while. Treated my friends to a nice holiday and blew money in all the dumb ways you can imagine. Then it turned out the bear market was lasting much longer than I expected.

Whoops.

I still had no real life qualifications that could translate into a "real" job so we were kinda screwed.

2019 came and the bear market left. Unfortunately so did all that cash I had put away to re-enter the market when the time was right.

So here I am today, starting again from humble beginnings. Slightly wiser and more mature.

I am not sure what your standard introduce yourself post is like but I cannot think of another way to tell you who I am. I am just another normal guy with a dream and some motivation.

Sort:  

Hahahahaha that's so funny!!

Good looking out my friend. I actually find it quite funny and flattering :)

Also FYI to save people trouble it is just simple plagiarism of this post.

OK, that was one of the longest #introduceyourself posts I've ever read. I think you covered most bases.

Welcome and I hope you enjoy your journey here on steemit. The communities are great and if you need any advice, although I'm no expert myself, I'll do my best to help out.

I think I got a bit carried away but at least I skipped the first 20 years of my life :)

Congratz on making it all the way through haha

When you mention communities is that a specific part of steemit or is it another term for tribes? Still trying to learn all the lingo :)

Tribes/communities are often used interchangeably on steem. Both means virtually the same thing.

Ahh thanks bud :)

That's an interesting read. Your story is still better than that of billions of other folks roving the earth in search of what to do with their lives. Your knowledge in crypto will eventually give you the much-needed breakthrough when crypto becomes massively adopted. Just hold on, we are getting there! Welcome to steem!

Honestly at this stage I could never imagine myself doing anything else. The thought of earning someone else money has never appealed to me in a work sense. I have found that 9-5 jobs are generally a soul crushing experience. You work to live, not live to work. I have no doubt that the tokenization of the internet is a real and tangible future, but not a future I would like to happen too quickly. I need my stacks back :)

Nice to meet you bud and thanks for the words of encouragement.

Fantastic, captivating! I know you so well already.

My attention was sold as Go, Hikaru no go. I got into it for the same reason. Though definitely didn't take it to your level. I learnt via online players to their equivalent of, I guess 9kyu at my peak... good enough!

Anyway, I run SteemSTEM, a curation community that supports blogs writing on Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, though we also support history, psychology, all that kinda stuff.

Currently we can vote, for excellent posts... well:

But we have maybe the highest standards on the blockchain. They are not impossible or anything. I've no scientific background and I run the place. The very point is that anyone can do it. But if you are interested - for example the psychological development of your child - if you have that passion for writing for real, join us!

https://discord.gg/uDfgdG

And use the tag #steemstem for any such post.

Also, if you use our website being developed to post, you get an extra 5% stronger vote. If you set us as a beneficiary (any amount) you get another 5% stronger.

Alright that's it for now!

Yay another grown man who loves anime :) I think our interest's align quite spectacularly. Like you I am not a science major, hell I never even finished school(but that's a story for another day). But I do have two eye's and 8 fingers. I use them quite well to learn about the world around me. As my dad would always say "you should learn something new everyday and two things on a Sunday".

Funnily enough that post you tagged was the last thing I read before I fell asleep last night. Was truly insightful and well written. I do not doubt the amount of work that went into it. I am only learning about tribes as we speak but I am all for meeting like minded people and trying to carve out a place where I could belong.

I will actually make my first post using SteemStem because I have something right up your ally that I have been researching quite a bit lately. But in the spirit of the post you just tagged it will take me a couple days to it justice.

Thanks for such a warm welcome. Your community outreach start's in the right place my friend :D

Awesome! If you would like, feel free to send me the draft on discord first and we can, if needed, brush it up according to our specific guidelines =) I'm in China though so time zones differ somewhat

No problem at all. I will join you on discord right now to familiarize myself with the guidelines.

Don't worry about timezones m8 I sleep very sporadically so it should not be too much of an Issue. What time is it in Shanghai atm? I know I could just check but you can't develop a conversation like that haha

Why develop conversation when you can end things awkwardly?

It's uh... 11:23...

...

So your either 7 hours ahead or 5 hours behind. Guess we will never know. Also the discord invite expired >.>

Oops... 7 ahead! And here's t he new link - expired in 1 day https://discord.gg/FhEFNv

The crypto world has been a ride. Nice dog.

That's for sure! I look forward to jumping right back onto the horse ^^

Hey, welcome!!
Let me know if you have any questions, I can do my best to answer. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @jacuzzi thanks for taking the time to offer help. I have done quite a lot of research about steem already but one thing that confuses me is the purpose of SBD. I remember a couple years ago the idea behind it was you could always trade your SBD for $1 worth of steem at current market prices. It appears that has changed but for the life of me I can't figure out why or how.

Great question!
Lol, can't say I know as well. Think the Market with buy and sell pressure changed it.. But that is just a guess... I got to look in to this as well. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Let me know if you find anything out.

I will do the same of course :)

Nice to have you here @mydogzeus😍😂

Welcome to steemit✌

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks bud glad to be here. Your emojis just made me jealous so I needed to learn how to do them :wink:

That did not work...hmmmmm : wink :

EDIT: How do you do emoji's? lol

Oh dear 😂😂. It's my phone's keyboard. I use an Android phone

Another mystery that needs to be solved (@-_-@)

Lol😂😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi and welcome to steem/steemit :)
Whish you a good journey over here

Thanks bud. I feel very welcome :)

Congratulations @mydogzeus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You published your First Post

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61082.45
ETH 3394.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51