Introduction (Hello Steemit)

Hello Steemit Community. I'm Musa Hixson. I'm an artist from Brooklyn, New York. I look forward to sharing with you some of my art, and also the process. Though I work primarily as a visual artist my artistic process sometimes involves community building, which lead me to found Brooklyn Art Incubator. I also hope to share photos of scenes I capture based on the thoughts they provoke, and an occasional written analysis. Please see my Bio below and some of the work we do at Brooklyn Art Incubator. Cheers!
118.JPG

BIO
I was born in Cleveland, Ohio, but I’ve lived in Brooklyn, NY most of my life. I earned an MFA in Sculpture at Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, New York in 1998 and a BA in Comprehensive Art from Hampton University, Hampton Virginia, in 1995. I’ve been selected as artist-in-residence at Wave Hill, Winter Workspace, Bronx, New York in 2015, at The 3-D foundation, Verbier Switzerland in 2011, Obama City Art Residency, Obama Japan in 2010, Vermont Studio Center, Johnson Vermont in 2006 and Virginia Center for Creative Arts, Amherst, Virginia in 2005. In 2010 I was selected for the Aichi Triennale in Achi, Japan. I’m is also a 2007 Oxford Round Table Fellow, University of Oxford, England.

Hixson_2 copy.jpg

HixsonMusa 7.jpg
ARTIST STATEMENT
My multidisciplinary art explores the correlations existing between repetitive codes of information uncovered in scientific research and the various structural patterns, which occur in our everyday environment. My process-oriented practice incorporates the complexities of painting, wrapping, automatic writing, cutting, scoring, tying, weaving, and nailing. Combining various materials with existing found objects; my art reflects assemblage, sculpture and large-scale immersive installations. Recurring motifs in my practice are the elliptical forms and spheres often repeated organically in nature. I attribute my interest in these forms to their structural sustainability and therefore prevalence in the universe. I also believe that my art implies a lyrical collision of these binary worlds, resulting in visual interpretations embodying such formal elements of composition as; surface, depth, mark making and balance. Anthropological trends in human behavior are another core concern of mine. Evidenced by a subtle reference to symbolic, materials, imagery and objects interwoven. Musaartonlin.com

Brooklyn Art Incubator
Since 2001, Brooklyn Art Incubator (BAI) has been utilizing the arts to promote positive self-image and provide social development for the youth of New York City. Our underlying vision is to incubate artistic talent, empower students with creative and entrepreneurial spirit, and ultimately bridge the gap between talent and success for at-risk youth across all 5 boroughs.
Over the years, we have learned that our approach and techniques for youth can benefit an even broader audience here in New York City. We have grown from one local artist/teacher, to a team of volunteers and staff. Additionally, we have been adding programs, partners, and developing a more robust vision for success to meet the needs of our community. Brooklynartincubator.org

MISSION
A community focused arts-education organization that provides a spectrum of services, engaging and empowering multiple generations, while providing positive environmental visions.
VISION
Communities that celebrate and nurture the environmentally substantial artistic talents that lead to educational and entrepreneurial success.
IMG_2107.jpg

IMG_2080.jpg

IMG_3499.jpg
Brooklyn Art Incubator HISTORY
2001 – Sparked by my experiences as a teacher in New York City public schools and Juvenile Justice facilities, I founded Brooklyn Art Incubator (BAI). As a local teaching artist, I developed a program envisioning the use of art to help young people overcome the challenges that make growing up as productive, successful members of the community appear to be an unachievable goal.
2003 – BAI officially incorporates, receives federal 501(c)3 non-profit status, and registers with the NY State Bureau of Charities.
2005 – BAI artists are contracted by the by the United States Defense Department, officially launching our Vision to Action program. The goal: produce illustrations designed for environmentally conscious community spaces, gathered from community input; help Urban Planners and the Army Corp of Engineers design, and develop greener, healthier, and more sustainable environments. The program went nationwide.
2009 – BAI launches and holds their first Art for Seniors program. BAI is contracted with the NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation-Community Justice programs to educate Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn residents about hazardous environmental factors. Visions of residents were captured and manuals for creating green communities were developed for broader circulation and education.
2010 – BAI is Contracted with the NYS Office of Child and Family Services to work as a Bridges to Health (B2H), Waiver Service Provider. BAI opens up their services to offer support for children and families who are involved in foster care.
IMG_3702.png!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Musa! Great to have you aboard! This is Kirk Finkel, I'm a colleague of Michael Lee and Ryu Kim. I'm an admirer of your work both in the public art world and through your notforprofit engagement. Looking forward to working with you later this summer at HvKPark.

(Resteemed your intro post)

Thank you Kirk. I look forward to getting to know you.

Welcome onboard Musa!!

Thanks so much man. So Cool. Let touch base soon.

Welcome to Steemit
We are happy to join us here

Welcome to steemit! Hope you have a great time.

Welcome aboard Musa love the name Mansa! Great content, as well the kids are the future good to see someone else making an investment into the youth.

Thanks much. Nice to follow you

Welcome to steemit!
I followed you please follow me 🔙 if possible.
I resteemit upvoted your post.

Your art is amazing musahixson! We really appreciate your follow! 🔥 👍

Hello Musa! Nice to meet you, great bio you have!

welcome @musahixson! amazing work, impressive accomplishments, so glad to see more of your posts and follow your progress.

I like you posts too. Thank you

Congratulations @musahixson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47