Good morrow, steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone. I just joined up the other day, as I'm sure many have -- since the excitement around cryptoeconomics is growing. It took me a day or two to think of something to write, but then I decided to write a simple introduction post on myself. While I have reservations about introducing myself to the internet (maybe introducing myself to the chain will be different?), here it goes. The following is a picture of me as a moldy cardboard sandwich for halloween, a little bit about me, and what I hope to accomplish here with my uncensorable voice.

IMG_20171027_072920_DRO.jpg

I'm a 30yr old civil engineer from Canada. I've been told that I have an addictive personality, which is more than likely fair. I get swept up in ideas and hobbies, and I rapidly jump from project to project in my spare time. As you may be able to guess, I'm currently enthralled with the amount of progress that crypto-currencies have made in terms of being a function form of payment, and so much more (how I wish I still had the 5 BTC my brother sent me back when there were only $50/ea, but alas -- I either lost them playing poker, or the site just plain ran away with them). I'm currently very excited for many different projects, ranging from selling my spare computing time for blender rendering (which I'm sure I'll talk about eventually) on golem, creating a virtual world in decentraland, starting a nation on bitnation, or even participating in a universal basic income like Circles. I'm still pretty naive on how a lot of this projects work, but I'm excited to learn more. For now, I'll have to satisfy my curiosity with my crypto-kitties. That's right, I picked up a couple. Gimme a shout if you want to set up a date between our kitties!

When I'm not obsessing over crypto currencies, I can be found obsessing over some of my other interests, such as:
-Rock climbing in beautiful Canada;
-Hiking with my partner and our two dogs;
-Sampling the finest craft beers that the Pacific Northwest has to offer;
-Enjoying the finest strains of craft marijuana that the Pacific Northwest has to offer;
-Learning how to make Kombucha;
-Training for running;
-Learning Python for:
-Virtual Reality Development;
-Computer Vision Projects;
-Blender Development;
-Deep Learning;
-Playing the guitar;
-Hiking;
-Surfing;
-Wealth inequality;
-Water quality and sustainability;
-Probably more.

I'm looking forward to participating in this growing community and starting to follow many interesting people. Take care everyone, and decentralize everything. Take the power back.

IMAG1005.jpg

IMAG1136.jpg

IMAG1014.jpg

This last image should be a Google Cardboard VR compatible shot... Not sure how you might download it, or if it'll work this way, but it might be neat if it works. These are the outskirts of the Blue Mountains, at Govetts Leap lookout from my recent trip to Australia. Check it out!

IMG_20170826_144453.vr.jpg

EDIT: For those of you interested in seeing the VR image -- click this link. You should be able to download or view as long as you have the appropriate app installed on your phone, and a headset viewer. For android, all you need is the Cardboard Camera. For iOS users -- you're on your own. I've never used one. Maybe someone can shed some light on this?

Sort:  

Hey mstafford! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator and have started a new series "The Daily 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Daily 5.

Unlike some of the bots and follow 4 follow spammers you will find in the Introduction tag, my work is 100% human and without any required response from you. While I invite you to come check out the post and interact in the comments, nothing further is required but that you enjoy your time here on Steem!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

Welcome to Steemit man! Nice intro! Civil engineer huh, I have a few relatives in that. haha Cryptoktties, I almost bought a couple. Look forward to more posts, followed!

Thanks dude. Couldn't help myself with the cryptokitties. with all the hype around ethereum and crypto these days, I figured I could breed some and send them out as overly confusing christmas gifts that are bound to get lost and/or misplaced.. Could be a good conversation starting in about 20+yrs...

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see some new faces!

Glad to be seen!

Welcome man! Looks like you tend to keep yourself pretty busy lol. I'd love to check out some Canadian wilderness, and hike through the mountains. When I was about 19 I made it to Vancouver for a couple of days to check out some skateparks but that was the extent of my north of the border experience. Looking forward to some great posts from you.

Thanks brother! Hopefully I can motivate myself into developing some content. Been meaning to start a bit of a blog anyways, so maybe I can use this for that. Either way -- thanks for the welcome!

I hear you, man. I'd been wanting to start one too and hearing about steemit kind of pushed me into finally taking steps towards making it happen.

Awesome post fellow engineer :) Good luck on your crypto adventures. If you are also interested in ICOs then you can check out my page, I will regularly be posting under-the-radar ICOs that I think have high potential to do good.

Oh that sounds interesting -- but I'll admit that I'm still pretty green on a lot of this stuff and how crytoeconomics really works. I'll for sure give you a follow. Maybe some of your insights can inform me. Looking forward to it!

Dope stuff man! Welcome!
Grow your followers by posting on #futurewhales
Upvote for Upvote
Resteem for Resteem

THanks, dude!

Welcome to steemit @mstafford. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Can you explain to me what this stuff is about? I'm new to all this.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mstafford to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I dig the post man! I'm excited to find more climbers on this platform!

Dope! Do you climb? It'll probably be a little while before I post anything other than training journal entires from grinding out some ARC training at the gym -- currently the wet season over here, and I'm recovering from a bit of a smashed thumb injury.

What part of the world are you from?

welcome to steemit world . Always Remember 5 points..
1)Never copy paste content from any where ..
2)It can take some time but if you work hard , God will definitely give you success..
3)Never abuse anyone or post haterade content on steemit..
4)Daily post will increase your REPUTATION SCORE (number by the side of your name)
Reputation score is mainly based on upvotes and comments .
No matter what you post ,if it gets upvotes and comments then reputation score will increase
Don't let anyone flag you or downvote you..
5)Your first post should be your introduction..
You can follow me @be4u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55