Introducing Myself: Rob from Nowhere

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

I'm Rob and I don't know what I'm doing

Don't prepare yourself for some hyper-smart well thought out super intelligent post.

I just joined Steemit because @larkenrose shared on Facebook that he was posting over here. I waited about a week and then watched a video from @andrarchy about Steemit and I thought I'd give it a try.

I'm all over all the "normal" social media. Addicted mostly to watching and commenting on YouTube videos, but I play with Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr and I tried out Tsu.

What's going to be different here? I get it's blockchain based but I only have an elementary understanding of that. I've exchanged Bitcoin a few times, unfortunately I didn't get in at the early levels.

I guess if you need to know anything about me, and I'm not sure you do,  it's that over the last 5 years I've been trying to improve how I treat the rest of the world.

I'll be checking out posts regarding such a wide variety of topics it wouldn't do any good to list them here. I don't know if I'll write much, although the video I watched from @andrarchy did somewhat encourage me.

Mr. RL

Sort:  

What's different here:

  1. You earn virtual tokens called STEEM that can be traded for Bitcoin, which can be traded for US Dollars

  2. The whole system is open source. If someone wants to censor steemit, a new steemit clone will pop up somewhere else on the internet. The blockchain (the database that stores this info) is all over the place and shared.

  3. Freedom of speech is a lot easier on steemit

  4. Here people are incentivized to comment on your posts, and vote you up if it is a good one. Here both readers and content creators both can earn something for their time.

  5. I could go on and on.. but these are some immediate differences.

Real knowledge is to know the extent of one's ignorance.

What's the longest you've waited in line and what were you waiting for?

Greetings!

Ciao! Ciao!

It's nice for you to join us!

Enjoy your stay!

Thanks for the post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43