How to be a badass motherfucker... Work in Progress

What's up steemit gangsters?!

...

Okay, here it goes...

For as long as I can remember I wanted to be remembered for being extraordinary (I mean, it's like Macklemore says, "I heard you die twice, once when they bury you in the grave /And the second time is the last time that somebody mentions your name," right? ...Also, the next line kicks major booty). It is an odd aspect of manhood and humanity that I have to face daily. Like most good millennials, I desired to gain recognition in everything I pursued. I was never satisfied enough with my role as a husband, father, friend, leader, teacher, coach, or MAN unless people told me how great I was, even if the accolades were meaningless (which those compliments were themselves often time bullshit because of some odd societal norm that we are expected to give compliments, however false they may be, to make sure people feel good around us). I am learning to reject that false truth as bullshit.

I started to recognize that this was was doing far more harm than good... So my valiant quest for manhood began! In my search, I discovered a ton of books, blogs, websites, podcasts, and other forms of media that are trying to sell manhood and humanity as, in my mind, a cheap ass image that is only good for marketing (in effect, they are all lying to men just to all of us just to make some money... and let's be honest, this happens to women just the same). I also found some great resources, was turned back to classic texts, and read about individuals who were complete badasses that give me insight into living well. What is interesting to me is that there are always these links that tie greatness in ordinariness together (way more on this to come).

The truth is that I am blessed to have a short period of time to live on this planet and I will be almost completely forgotten after I die no matter how hard I try to be remembered (I'm no Fabius Maximus... Who? Exactly). So, I'm letting go of that, I don't need to be remembered, or even recognized, in this world to be a man with meaning and purpose in his life. At least that is the truth I am trying hard to grasp. I am searching, discovering, and embracing true manhood in this sense and everything that comes with it.

So, this blog is a stab in the damn dark to help me organize my thoughts and fine tune my ideas about being human in this crazy ass, incredible, think of as many words as you can to describe how blessed I am to be conscious, world. Please, join me in this journey, please leave comments, challenge my ideas, submit your thoughts, or share what has been meaningful to you as I keep on my odyssey of how to be a badass motherfucker that can look back and be proud of my life lived well.

Get after it and FSU!
mrOrdinary

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @mrordinary. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41