Introduceyourself - Change for the sake of change.

Hello!!
Stumbling upon Steemit reminded me of the fact that I am so out of touch when it comes to technology and social media. I am glad I found it though, seems like such a great platform.
You may have guessed from my nickname that I am one for nostalgia. According to the oxford dictionary Nostalgia is a sentimental longing or wistful affection for a period in the past: Oh no not a silly old grumpy man talking about the past, I hear you cry; Steemit is about progression and hope. I agree, I am a grumpy old man, perhaps a little scared of change but now I am here on Steemit, part of the new wave of communication, so I think I have made some progress. Nevertheless, I would like to share some of my passions, if you will allow me a little sentimentality.
I am a collector of vintage original movie and travel posters, old enamel signs, classic cars, illuminated signs etc. Any original retro or vintage item, I collect it. I love to salvage it, preserve and share it. Whilst I do want to hold on to the past through owning these items, I do believe in change, both new and old can exist side-by-side, however, I don’t believe in change just for the sake of change.
So, an observation, if I may, and it’s an observation tinged with a little grumpiness if you will allow me.
I was in Piccadilly Circus, Central London very recently with my wonderful wife and 3 children. I had not been there for a while and I was truly aghast to find all the beautiful neon and other lighting, which Piccadilly Circus was famous for, had been taken down and in its place, hanging on the walls of these glorious buildings were what can only be described as very large and rather uninspiring, flat-screen televisions.
Now just hang on a minute. I know, there’s nothing wrong with flat screen TV’s. We all have them, but that’s the point, if I have one in my living room, why would I want to see giant versions of one hanging in one of the most photographed and nostalgic parts of London, synonymous with neon and other lighting, that has been part of Piccadilly Circus for decades, henceforth always known as the Piccadilly Lights. Coca Cola had their lights up since 1955.
The whole point of the lights of Piccadilly is that they were bigger than life, nothing like you’d have in your home, that’s the magic right there. Now I look up and no more lights, just large screens. I grant you the images were super-sharp, and my kids loved them, but I can’t help thinking that the designers should have, at the very least, paid homage, no matter how small, to what was there before, now it is completely lost. Is this change for the sake of change and am I romanticising? Please forgive me I had to get that off my chest.

Thanks very much and by the way have a glorious and prosperous 2018!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67