A Reason to intoduce myself properly.

WHO AM I
My Name is Nicholas Gregory Hill. I am a 39 year old living in beautiful Cape Town, South Africa. In 2013 I left my job as Area Manager for a huge fast food company and decided to go it alone. I have failed multiple times and started over multiple times since then.
WHAT HAVE I DONE
Having no qualifications I decided that the only way I could support myself and family would be to start my own business. I started a Landscaping company with my sister, developed websites and even started a virtual reality architectural visualization company. The nail in the coffin for my small business plans was when I was repeatedly asked, (after demonstrating my product) if I had any qualifications and what schools I had attended. I realized that there was no place for me in the corporate world. You can take a look here at the house I built from plan if you like:


WHAT BROUGHT ME TO STEEMIT
Failure to make money from my otherwise successful endeavors led me to Bitcoin and the crypto currency space. When I first looked at steemit I thought it to be an amazing platform that had potential to change the way we communicate online. I just love the clean, click bait and advertising free interface. What a pleasure it is to have a social media platform that doesn't harvest your data and sell it to advertisers! All of this was great but I could not find a reason to post any content even though the rewards could be great.
WHAT CHANGED
A chance encounter with John Bauer. (http://www.johnbauerart.com) A ceramics wizard with high standing within the artist community in South Africa. He has asked me to be the "Steemit Guru" for artists in South Africa. Luckily for me, I have plenty of time on my hands and have proved to myself that I can learn anything.
WHERE TO NOW
I have no idea where this will lead and am making no plans. My journey starts tonight when I will be attending an exhibition at Art-B in Bellville. I will be spreading the word about how Steemit can be an extremely valuable platform to elevate artists and bloggers. Could this be the first step to a new economy and a new way of thinking about money? I will leave you with this clip from Alan Watts talking about money:

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Wish me luck.

Sort:  

Hi, nice to meet you, i'm also a newbie here. I upvoted you. Please, Check out my intro post too. It'll mean so much to me :)

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@xyrenerazon/people-will-stare-make-it-worth-their-while-hello-everyone-this-is-my-intro-post

Congratulations @mrdotcoza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85