🌙 Hello world (of Steem)!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170802_195157.jpg

Hi lovely folk of Steemit!

So I’ve been kind of putting writing this introduction off, because I didn’t really know what to tell you guys. It feels somewhat terrifying, to be honest.

But, I thought to myself, since when is something terrifying also necessarily something bad?

I’ve done a lot of terrifying things in the last couple of years. For one, I decided to get on my bicycle and peddle on to Spain (an adventure that included me, my bicycle and my own two legs for 1500 kilometers). After that, I decided I needed some more serious wheels, so I went and got my motorcycle license (yes, I am cliché and my motorcycle is my dearly beloved child). Then I packed up my stuff and went backpacking through Asia, far away from all my loved ones. Meaning my motorcycle, obviously. Then, as if Asia wasn’t enough, I decided to move to a new city (Rotterdam) where I didn’t know anyone and started up a new life. And the most terrifying thing of all: I decided I would let myself fall in love again (@Enharius, also thanks for getting me into Steemit!).

I think what I am trying to say here is, is that terrifying isn’t bad. It’s just terrifying. And terrifying can always be conquered.

So, in getting to the point: Hi! My name is Moon, Moon-Soleil in full (where Soleil is actually, really, completely, honestly French for sun), so yes. Moon Sun. And yes, that’s my real name. No, I don’t know what my parents got into, but here I am. And you know, I've actually grown to love my name so much, that I gave it an hommage:

535382203.777141.jpg

What else about me? I was born in the Netherlands, where I am currently studying and still living (the Rotterdam adventure, remember?). The plan is to finish up my masters degree in children’s literature coming year and to get a job in editing or something of the sorts.

However, I’ve also learned that plans fall through (and they always do so for a reason), so who knows where I’ll end up. The thing is, I think, that I have to learn to accept that no matter what happens, life goes on (credits to The Beatles, ofcourse).

Furthermore, I love all things art. Photography is a big love of mine, especially polaroids!

535382324.048081.jpg

Other artsy passions I cherish are drawing, music and (why I am on Steem for a big part): I love writing. Academic writing on all kinds of topics, but I also have a lot (an enormous lot) of love for poetry. Reading and writing. If you’re interested, check some of my poetry that I dropped on my Steemblog. And if some of you are into that kind of stuff as well, let me know! I already love this community and would love to hear from the other Steemians over here (:

If you managed to stumble on to this point, thanks and lots of love from Rotterdam!

IMG_0147.JPG

Yes, Raven, yes!

Signature MS OK.png
Upvote OK.jpg

Sort:  

Welkom, gooi je haar los, schouders naar achteren, borsten vooruit en blik op oneindig...je kunt het,,, :)

Haha, dat komt helemaal goed!

A lovely post! I gave you a follow :)

Awesome to hear, thanks!

Wow, incredible story, incredible journey, welcome aboard.

Thanks so much, I feel welcome already!

Welcome to Steem @moonsoleil. Feel free to follow me @kanasite and upvote. Cheers :)

Will do, thanks for the welcome (:

Welcome to Steem @moonsoleil! I'm new here too! Hope everything works out for the both of us. Follow me! I just followed you! :D
Check out my recent post! https://steemit.com/dtube/@sleexy/1bltmwkd

Thanks and good luck to you as well!

@welcoming I think she is promising steemian!

Cuteness all the way

Hello @Moonsoleil welcom to Steemit.

Great introduction post I'm sure you are going to fit right in.
Just a suggestion it can be worth adding a verification photo to this post just a photo of you holding a piece of paper with your username and the date.

This lets people know your real and not a bot which helps them feel comfortable upvoting and sharing your content.

Otherwise check out @jessandthesea she combines poetry, photography and skin you might like her work.

Kind regards
Peter

Haha hi Peter! Thanks for the tip, but I can honestly assure you this is me and nothing more or less (:

I will check her out, the combination sounds promising!

What a nice written post! Really funny and welcome to steemit! I'm following you and I'm looking forward to reading more stories!

Thanks Byiriss, I will do my best to keep up my work! (:

A very warm welcome to you @moonsoleil :)

Thank you so much (:

I love your love for adventure.. Welcome to the steemit family @moonsoleil .. Feel free to follow @kekegist and upvote.. I will do same.. Cheers ☺

Haha thanks, I do love adventure. Let's make Steem our newest, yes? (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42