What the hell am I doing here? An misfit's introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit community!

I start my first post, the introduction one, already giving you a spoiler and saying that I'm not sure I'll be able to answer the question from the title. I would like to tell you "find out more in the next posts!" but I'm not sure how this is going to develop. So, for now, let's sit back, relax, and let the words I'm typing trying to make a sense to all of this.

I have been introduced by Steemit only recently and I had to overcome an internal struggle before I finally took the decision to create my account. The reason is simple, I'm one of those people who feels out of place very easily and this platform was first described to me as a place where to discuss cryptocurrency and anything related to it, so it didn't really sound interesting. Don't get me wrong, I don't have anything against cryptocurrency, it's just that I'm not an expert, so I didn't think I could participate in the debate in any way. When I finally took the courage to actually check this place out by myself, I realised it was nothing as I expected. I found a wide community, interested in any field possible, actively participating in changing the way we share our ideas. So here I am, joining you in this challenge!

Some nonsense about me

So far you just now I'm a misfit, but maybe I should spend some more words about who is Alessia Valotta (oh yeah, that's my name). Well, I'm Italian (my name is definitely not misleading), I'm 23, and since a year I live in Austria, where I started a Master in Chemical Engineering at the TU Graz, where I also work as Research assistant.

15272094_10209436594224701_1222358367061182550_o.jpg
A rare footage of me in my new city

But I'm not gonna bore you with the details about my research (unless you like modelling the behaviour of fluid mixtures, but I guess that for many it's as boring as mute Polish movies without subtitles). Instead, I am willing to revive an old passion of mine, that I didn't really share with anyone for a long time.

Poetry and Prose

I think I wrote my first poem when I was nine. It was dedicated to my favourite teacher, the first one who introduced me to poetry and increased my interest in literary classics. I don't know where she is now, but I wish I could thank her because she was one of the few teachers I met who truly believed in me. But this is another story.
The point is that since then I never stopped writing, but this is the first time I decide to share it with a wider public. I hope you will enjoy it. Most of the stuff is in Italian, especially the poems. Since it's my mother tongue, I find it much easier to model it to express my feelings. I hope it will convince some people to study my beautiful language!

My topics

So yeah, you got it, I like to write. But what about? I don't have a specific topic, it might be about my personal experiences, my thoughts, my ideas. I mostly cover topics that people define "sad" or "depressed", like feeling trapped in your life, unrequited love, loneliness. But this is what I felt and still feel, and I believe I'm not the only one. So that's why I want to share this, to reach people like me, too sensitive, who constantly feel like there's none who understands them and none to talk to.

Other interests

Despite this one sad last note, I'm a person who likes to travel a lot, take pictures of the place I visit, meet new people and learn about new cultures.
To give you an idea, this is a shot that describes my love for travelling:
photo5938073036303477261.jpg
I took this picture while coming back home for Christmas, I guess I was flying over the Alps, and what really caught my eye was the incredible colours of the sunrise over the mountains. I never really saw something this beautiful. For more of my shots, you can follow me on Instagram, my account name is alemad94.

Let's rock this together!

So I've arrived at the end of this long introductory post. I think I wrote too much, but at the same time, feel like there's so much I could tell about me (I also love music, for example) but I'll leave it for another post. For now, all can I say is thank you for making this community awesome, and stay tuned to see where this journey in Steemit takes me (and us) to.
I'd be happy if you'll drop a question or just a comment, to reassure me that my stream of consciousness has reached someone.
Again, if you want to follow me, I have an Instagram account (alemad94).

Keep rockin' on!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :)
Actually I think the #science section would be interested in posts about your studies ;) But write whatever you want to :)
Do you speak german?
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Hey!
Thanks for your hint ;)
I'm studying German at the moment, I have a B1 level :)

@montaliana
Welcome to @steemit, inspire, and be inspired.

stay blessed.

Hello there Alessia!

Welcome to the community! I'm sure you'll definitely enjoy the space here since you're one who likes to write. So keep writing and enjoy the platform too!

Love,
Nayana.

Welcome Alessia, wish you luck and success.

Congratulations @montaliana, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @montaliana! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @montaliana! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65777.74
ETH 2616.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68