Hello Steemians I'm Monica!

Hi, I'm Monica!

I decided to join Steemit because my husband @lonniejohnston invited me to sign up. He suggested it since he knows how much joy I get from sharing vegan recipes I learn. He is always on the lookout for interesting new ideas which is how he came across Steemit, he has his own account but has not posted yet so I'll continue bugging him until he does. I have to admit that I'm a bit nervous about posting here for anyone to read since I'm used to posting just for my family and friends on my private FB and IG accounts but I'm kind of excited to broaden my horizons and share my love for vegan food and cats with everyone! So far I only know the basics about how the site works but I look forward to learning much more. I read the FAQ and I learned that I should introduce myself so here is a short summary of who I am.

I live in San Diego and although I'm from Los Angeles I have fully embraced being a San Diegan! I love LA but San Diego is nicknamed "America's Finest City" so it's hard to imagine living anywhere else. I've been happily married to the love of my life for a year and a half now, for fun we love to travel and check out street fairs together. I'm retired but my background is in nutrition and dietetics which is what inspired my love for healthy vegan cooking. I'm a home cook and not a photographer so anything I post will be something I've created for my loved ones and shot casually with my iPhone. I am completely obsessed with cats so naturally I consider our cat family and not just a pet, in fact half of the pictures in my phone are photos of our cat. The other half of the pictures on my phone are of food because I love to cook and I especially love trying new vegan restaurants. I'm always that annoying person taking pictures of the food before anyone can start eating. In my free time I enjoy reading historical fiction, occult or mystery books and I also binge watch shows about those same subjects on Netflix. I was worried I may not be able to come up with enough about myself to entertain anyone but that all flowed out quite easily. I'll save more details for the future but for now that's pretty much me in a nutshell. I look forward to being a part of the Steemit community and reading everyone's posts.

WIN_20170630_19_11_43_Pro.jpg
*please excuse yesterdays date, I finished this late last night and thought I hit post but when I logged on this evening I realized it never posted. Sorry!

Meet my hubby @lonniejohnston, this was us on a date a few weeks ago

IMG_7206.jpg

This is our baby Peter

IMG_7219.jpg

Follow me for yummy home cooked vegan/vegetarian recipes and other adventures!

Sort:  

Monica your welcome, your husband did well. The pictures are nice

How kind of you to say, thanks!

Your welcome , please due make out time to visit my blog to read my recent and previous article on Steemit, the rich and the poor.

Hello welcome to steemit and i wish you good luck.

Many thanks agbaregha!

Welcome to Steemit @monicajohnston!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Thanks for the input!

Cool! Always keen for more vegan stuff! Following! By the way I started an interesting chat here you may be keen to check out https://steemit.com/food/@larksongbird/coming-out-vegetarian-vegan

Thanks larksongbird, I will check it out!

Welcome to Steemit @monicajohnston ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Congratulations @monicajohnston! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Vote
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice! I'm excited to earn more badges thanks!

Hi and welcome to Steemit, I wish you luck on your journey here.

Can I suggest you look into the #minnowsupportproject - a place for newbies to get help and support as they set out across Steemit. We have voting bots, a follow train where you can get followers and much help, support and advice.

Drop in to chat at https://discord.gg/v3GpU4N and tell aggroed I sent you

We are close to 2000 members. No.2000 to sign up and register will win SBD from me!

Thanks for the recommendations gmuxx! I will check them out.

Welcome to Steem @monicajohnston I have sent you a tip

Thanks so much!

Welcome to this great community @monicajohnston
Add value to this platform and start earning.
Best of luck!

Thanks ghulammujtaba!

Welcome to steemit Monica.I hope you find the platform to be beneficial. I believe many will be looking forward to your vegan recipes. All the best!

Thanks calmanalyst!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33