Mom, Wife, Teacher, Student, Person?

Hi everyone! I am trying this new forum out on the advice of my son who has been into Crypto-Currencies for years. Although I am still pretty confused about the whole thing , I figured it couldn't hurt to give it a try and maybe educate myself in the process.

First of all a little about me. Like the title suggests I have lots of titles: Mom, Wife, Teacher, Student, Human Being, Seahawks Fan etc. I will just refer to myself as Mrs. Jones or Mom because I am actually not sure when the last time I heard my first name was!

Most importantly I am a mother of five. I was lucky to find my husband who was a single dad of four about 8 years ago and added to the family one more in 2009. My kids are almost all grown up. Our oldest, the one who has twisted my arm about Crypto-Currencies for years, is a computer programmer who goes by the name DashGuy. He is a fast talking, hyper guy who is always looking for something new to learn about and get into. Our second oldest, and by far the most difficult teen, is a thriving blue collar worker. He loads and unloads ships on his forklift and is making what I make after only two years. He is proof that college isn't needed for everyone to succeed. Our middle child just graduated high school and we are waiting to see what path he takes. He has not been the easiest either but I might talk about that in a later post. Our one and only daughter is a self-proclaimed nerd and we couldn't as for more. She is working at 17 and although she is saving for a car, a week doesn't go by without a package arriving with a favorite YouTuber's merchandise inside. Finally, our baby boy is a corky kid who models his siblings and is in love with Pokemon, zombies, and snakes. He is going into the first grade and is excited to see who's class he is in. We have fun as a family when we are all able to get together.

I am a teacher in a Seattle suburb and I love it...most days! Kids can be awful but for the most part they reward you in ways you never expected. I push my students to be explorers and to push society to be better in whatever way they can. By the way I do this with nine year-olds! Most students come into my class never having thought about how the world works or its' faults but leave realizing things are not great for much of our world and they only have to interact with people and learn their stories to gain the perspective needed to support change.

Finally, I am a student. Not just in the broad, " I am always a learner" sense but in the "I am still going to school" sense. I am about three classes away from finishing my Masters in Middle School degree and it is not easy! Especially when you wear three other hats that are all more important. I would like to pat my own back though because I am killing it! I have been completing my classes in almost double the regular pace and I am excited to be finishing my degree almost a year early.

Having to wear all the hats I have is exhausting, challenging, impossible at times, but worth it. I look forward to telling you more about me as time goes on! Stay tuned.

Sort:  

Welcome to STEEMit! I am new here myself and still figuring things out. Good luck and I look forward to reading your posts. With so many hats I am sure you'll have some interesting and funny stories to share along the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31