Being introduced to Steemit....but really guess this is an introduction to me.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I am currently fumbling through this platform trying to get some footing. The idea of a community of people sharing experience, knowledge, creativity and commentary was very intriguing to me. Previously the only other platform I have truly enjoyed is IG...back when it still held some purity. The cryptocurrency aspect is a bit overwhelming. The general concept is phenomenal but the side BS it seems to breed is a bit suffocating. But i digress....it is much like the general state of humanity these days and if I can try to hold my place there than I suppose I can hold my ground here and bask in all of the great caverns of content.

My name is Emily and I am a native Oregonian in the USA (trying to keep politics out of this, I would just like to say that just because I live here does not mean that I subscribe to all that we seem to represent these days. In fact Im pretty sure I dont stand for a lot of it). I recently made a huge life change and left a career that I was no longer able to maintain. I am seeking out new paths and trying to find places that feed me rather than suck the life out of me...something that feeds me soul rather than my wallet.

As my display name hints to, I love the adventures of life.

IMG_0277.JPG
(I'm not too keen on being photographed though so this may be the closest we'll get to that).

I love hiking/backpacking. Give me a trail and I am happy as a lark. Nature is my church, my spiritual path and where I find connection to my true being. I pride myself to being a steward of the planet and fighting to keep the purity of it alive.

IMG_1499.JPG

I love all things creative. I find creativity to be one of the most attractive qualities a person can have. I've found much creativity here on Steemit and am looking forward to exploring and supporting that.

IMG_1474.JPG

The creative process is one of the grandest adventures you can go on. I dabble in many. While I am not a "professional" photographer, I love to take pictures(all photos on my posts will be my own unless I say otherwise, and there will likely be a lot of them :) ). I love the fine arts, drawing, painting etc. I am most recently completely engrossed in ceramics. I love lapidary and working with rocks and minerals. It's the perfect excuse to escape to nature and do some rockhounding.

IMG_2022.JPG

If I go into every aspect of creativity and the hobbies that I dabble or appreciate this may wind up more like a novel rather than a post so I will save all of that for future posts.

I also appreciate the creativity of the human mind. The ability to explore and shed light on life with different perspective is key to the expansion of our beings. The diversity reflected in this platform is priceless. The content from all the individuals around the world is enlightening and truly valuable.

I am looking forward to exploring this new platform, aka rabbit hole, and supporting my fellow steemers in all that they enthusiastically bring.
IMG_2313.JPG

My hope is to provide content that is worthwhile and reap the benefits of others doing the same.

Thank you for taking your time to say hello. Hope to cross paths in the future.

IMG_2456.JPG

Kind regards, Emily

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mle777 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!


This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team! If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Muxxybot is a Curation account that features chosen posts, selected and voted on by the Curation team. If featured, your post will be shared on Muxxybot's post, which will be resteemed by @gmuxx. The author will then get added to Muxxybot's voting list for automatic votes on all future posts.

Thank you for your interest. Happy to accept participation in what you are doing.

Welcome to Steemit! Sounds like your adventurous spirit brought you to the right place. :)

Thanks Lena, I really love what I've seen so far for the most part. It's definitely and ocean but there's some real cool fish I've found. I had a chance to look at some of your art. Fantastic! Looking forward to following you and seeing more. So much to see.....so little time!

Hi there Emily, welcome to steemit.

Lovely to meet another creative type, I'll look forward to more on that and your photos look great.

Thank you Scarlet I'm excited and overwhelmed to see all of the wonderful creativity on here. Your flamework is amazing. Definitely hope to see more posts about your process. I have always admired glasswork....its both tough and elegant at the same time. I have done some kiln formed glass stuff but nothing with flames. You're very brave :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.
https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-48

Welcome to Steemit.

Thanks so much. Looking forward to getting settled in.

Hello from your state-neighbor to the north! I love backpacking too, and the PNW is such a great place to get outside. I let my rock collection fall to the wayside long ago, but would love to hear more about lapidary! Hope you're enjoying Steemit, your first paragraph is a pretty astute analysis haha.

Thanks for saying hello Katie! Good to meet another PNWer. OR and WA are so comparable in their beauty. We are lucky to be surrounded with it.
I'm hoping to get some lapidary stuff up here soon. Being new on here is quite overwhelming and I haven't quite fallen into content niches yet. To be honest, I've been putting up half-assed/half asleep posting because I've been using all of my time sponging up what others are offering. There is just so much quality content on here it's hard to walk away.
Your most recent post about your goals for this year came just in time for me. What a great outline with wonderful goals. Very inspirational! I definitely would like to do something similar for myself, mostly for accountability. I may even need to implement a timer system, lol.
Looking forward to following. Sounds like you have some wonderful stuff to share!

Oh, I know. At the top-level Steemit looks like a lot of spammy stuff, but underneath there's so much gold you can read forever. I'm not sure I can keep up my goals in the long run since it involves so much computer time. But it's fun computer time, which I can't always say for programming!

How exciting to know that you fully embrace your passion and creativity! I can definitely relate to being in nature, backpacking and sustainability as meaningful pursuits. I am moving to southern OR in the near future also despite the politics :)

Thanks for checkin' my silly little intro out. I heard it was a requirement.
Southern OR....questionable politics....err, um that's fake news. Sorry, I couldn't help myself. Trying to keep politics off my reality here, I want this to be happy la la land :)
I hope your new adventure goes well. I imagine you will be divulging more when the time comes around.

Haha you make me laugh. I suppose at least we have the power to keep our own home a la la land if we want to :) I will definitely divulge as I go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42