Special shout-out to everyone on Steemit, straight outta Zimbabwe.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Aloha everyone on Steemit, I am Misheck from Zimbabwe and I am so excited to be part of you guys and look forward to reading some or all of the interesting stories from each and every one of you. I am not quite good at story writing I guess it’s because I am a Software developer I spend most of the time reading and writing code, but nevertheless I will be posting stories now and then and I hope your up votes and comments will motivate me to enhance my writing skills.

I know some of you have so many questions regarding my motherland Zimbabwe, questions like: What is the current economic and political status? Is it safe to visit? Is Uncle Bob (Mugabe) really alive, if so is he ever going to die and most importantly when is he going to retire from presidency? Well let me try to answer these questions in brief.

Zimbabwe’s economy is dying, the country is cash-strapped and the number of unemployed people is very high, it is not surprising to see street vendors who are university graduates. The country does not even a currency of its own, a multi-currency system is being used with the US dollar and the South African Rand being the most common.

                                                

Violence and political conflicts are endemic especially in the capital city (Harare). People are still planning more protest despite having been exposed to police brutality. 

                  

On whether it is safe or not to travel to Zimbabwe, I would say it is safe provided you are not going to be residing in the capital city since violence is prevalent there. There are very nice places away from the capital city that you can visit such as the Hwange National Park and Victoria Falls and believe you me those places still have high quality lodges and hotels.  

                        

Uncle Bob is still very much alive, though old-age is now catching up with him as he is often seen snoring during some ceremonies. He was quoted as saying “You then see a stampede now, they will be saying the president is dying. 'I am not dying, shame on you'.” The Uncle at some point declared that Zimbabweans are "angry" at talks about him stepping down, as the youth wing of the ruling party says he should rule until he dies (True lies people want him gone even the youth from his party).

                    

Sort:  

@mishman55

Welcome to Steemit. Sorry for your situation. Hope you get out soon

thnx...we surely will

What's your guiltiest of guilty pleasures?

Tsze-Kung asked, saying, is there one word which may serve as a rule of practice for all one's life? The Master said, Is not Reciprocity such a word? What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.

Zimbabwe we have very nice tourist attraction places easpecially Victoria falls.Our game park is one of the most natural habitats one would want to visit for jungle mania.I love our people and Zimbabwe will always be our home forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67688.54
ETH 3821.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55