Introductions Are Hard

Hi, SteemIt! My name is Jay. I've sat in front of this computer for an embarrassingly long time trying to come up with that "perfect" intro, but my wife helped me realize that this is just a starting point and it doesn't have to be perfect! That's the thing with me, I like to analyze, and often over-analyze things - especially things I do. If you've ever seen the movie, "Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows" there's a scene towards the end of the movie where Sherlock Holmes, played by Robert Downey Jr., looks around the room and is noticing and analyzing everything all at once and Noomi Rapace's character asks him, "what do you see?" To which his response is, "Everything. That is my curse."

That's me in a nutshell.

When I meet people these days it's hard to explain, "what I do." That's because for the past three years my life has been dominated by a very debilitating and complicated head/neck injury. I'm kind of under this Post Concussion/Myofascial Pain Syndrome umbrella - honestly, it's so long and hard to explain I'll just do it in its own posts. The super short version is - I've had a 24/7 migraine and various other pain/symptoms for the past 3 years. So, when someone asks, "what do you do?" The answer is, "I spend a lot of time on my couch/bed with my dog playing video games and listening to podcasts." 

I'm really looking forward to posting here. I think it's going to a be a very well-needed thing in my life. I'm hoping it will give me the motivation to get back to writing and to express myself. I've spent a lot of time in thought the last three years, and I'm ready to get those thoughts out. I definitely want to talk a lot about self-reflection and life dealing with life-altering health issues, but I also really want to talk about music, movies, games, really just whatever comes to mind. ![20180131_191809.jpg]()
Sort:  

Welcome to steemit and good luck!

Welcome to Steemit. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! Welcome to the blockchain
Follow Me @truevoice

Thank you! I definitely think I could give DTube and DLive a try. I've always wanted to get into streaming and creating video content!

I'm having the same dilemma! I guess it is never easy to "expose" yourself to the world... I have yet to make an introduction and its weirdly frustrating :-(

I would write 3 paragraphs and then completely scrap them. I'm glad I finally just put something out there. I'm glad someone else can appreciate how frustrating it can be, though!

Welcome to steemit jay ^^ Hope to see you grow here and let all those thoughts out into great posts and valubale content ! Good luck !!

Thanks for the encouragement! I'm looking forward to it.

Great intro, Welcome to this Steemit Family ! It is a great community. i hope you go enjoy here. keep it up. @arvindkumar please follow me

Thank you! The community has already made a good impression on me and I just got here.

Also, consider yourself followed!

Welcome to Steemit! I look forward to reading your posts. You have a bright future here on Steemit. I have heard it said that, Your deepest pain can become your greatest platform. I am going to follow you and resteem your post in hopes that others will follow you and benefit from your encouging and hope filled posts. Good luck and God Bless you!

Thank you! I certainly am blessed and I hope that I can use my experience of the past three years and moving forward to encourage others! God Bless you!

Welcome to the steemit follow me and i follow you

Thanks and will do!

Hey Jay. I can relate, as I have sometimes serious back issues that flare up when I do too much that will put me out for days. The last bad one took me out of for 3 months as the doctor and chiroprator worked on me, trying to avoid surgery.

So certainly can relate. Now I am semi retired (because of health problems) and working at my "art"

Welcome, welcome. I am going to follow you and give you a vote. Please consider stopping by my Steemit place and doing the same.

Tim

Hey, Tim! Thank you for the kind words! I'm very sorry to read about your back issues. It's frustrating to deal with an injury like yours or mine. I'm sure you have periods of time where you feel better - that's where it's difficult for me. It's hard to go through periods of time where it's not so bad and where you feel a little more normal and then have a setback. It's like having the rug pulled from under you. I've been in physical therapy for the past 14 months and it's always that three-steps-forward, two-steps-back issue.

I'll definitely give you a follow and I wish you the best with your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59