EHLO steemit

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

EHLO: the first command for the handshake with most mail servers.

Me

whoami

UNIX command that prints the current logged in user

My name is Michael, I am 38yo (today is my birthday) and I was born and live in Greece. I am a software engineer and hard-core geek. Terminally addicted to technology, I cannot go on more than a few minutes without an electronic thing in my hands. I love all things computers, whether it be programming, gaming, hacking, PC building and lately cryptocurrencies.

pwd

UNIX command that print the current location in the file system

Dust from Africa
Athens, view from my window on a day with dust from Africa

I live in Athens, Greece. Currently in vacation (in Nafplio), it is the perfect time to introduce myself to steemit, which is something that I wanted to do for sometime now. I am not the writer type, but the combination of the technology behind steemit, the fact that I am in vacation right now and the remote possibility to make some money out of this (money generally avoids me), were the motives to at last introduce myself.

netstat

UNIX command that lists all network connections and listening ports

Wedding ring

I am getting married next month on a Greek island (Paros). Took a bit too long to make the decision, but with the right woman it wasn't too hard.

Nio

Best friend for the past 11 years is Nio, a medium-sized half-breed griffon which is the one and only living thing that I get perfectly along with. Nio is the definition of "domesticated" animal. Clean, polite, smart, genetically programmed to live in an apartment and enjoy it.

getwork

Ethereums command (RPC) to provide work for miners connected to the node

Work
After working for more than 12 years for companies and having tried various positions, products, technologies and countries, I decided to work by myself, starting with freelancing and then progressing to create a company along with a trusted friend. The partner makes the sales and PR and I do/manage the implementation, along with a team of programmers. Never call me an entrepreneur or director though. I hate those words.

ps

UNIX command to list all currently working processes

Being a hard-core geek, my "process list" contains mostly computer stuff. Apart from my work (which, yes, you guessed it, is technology related), I work on (and mostly never finish) software related projects. These projects are my daily drivers.

Adding ethereum support to CoiniumServ

Those who know about crypto mining and pools should have realized that there is no mining pool software with stratum support for ethereum (and/or clones). There are some stratum servers that work, but the popular and complete projects like MPOS, NOMP and uNOMP only implement the bitcoind RPC protocol. Ethash implementations are also missing.

CoiniumServ is a very nice project, cleanly written and very maintainable and extension friendly. Lots of things need extensions (BlockManager, ShareManager, algos) but it is a very interesting project that (I think) that many people need. (Lyra2re and Lyra2rev2 are the next things that need to be added - much more trivial since Vertcoin and Monacoin are bitcoin clones.
Sorry if I got too technical, I will write a post about this project soon.

Crypto trading

Crypto trading

Oh my god, what an addiction. And expensive one as well. I really suck at this, but I am hooked. I keep buying the top, but have the excuse that I am still learning...

Crypto mining

Crypto mining
I am currently experimenting and building a mining PC. After some research I bought a couple of AMD R7 370's which seem to be rather cost effective for the job. Currently mining Ethereum (ETH) and Decred (DCR) using Claymore's dual miner. Makes around 2.70$ per day (30MH/s) with current prices. If I get some spare money, I want to add 4 more GPU and make around 100MH/s (Ethash).

Wedding preparations

This one is not technology related, but I found a way to make it suit me. A wedding web site instead of a paper invitation! HTML/CSS might not be my cup of tea, but I got it as close to my interests as it could go.

Black Desert Online, EVE Online, Ori

At every point in my life there were games. All kinds of games. Currently it is mostly BDO, although I do not see it going very far due to the recent pay-to-win changes. Two EVE accounts with long training queues are the norm and some Ori in between fill my gaming needs.

Binge watching TV series

Netflix
Something that I do together with my wife. We have seen almost everything. All time favourite is Battlestar Galactica, but I also enjoyed Lost (what a let-down), Breaking Bad, Vikings and lots of others. Usually watch on my Plex setup or Netflix (lately made available in Greece, yay).

tail -f /var/log/error.log

UNIX command to display writes into a file in real time

There is so much wrong with me, that would really fill up the steem blockchain if I tried to write it all. I will just mention some words and you will get the point: panic attacks, the occasional depression, anxiety, migraines. However strange that might sound, I am happy, I enjoy life and the things I do/like and I am thankful for what I have.

shutdown -h now

UNIX command that shuts down the computer

I hope you find the above interesting. I plan to write dedicated posts about the tech projects I occupy myself with; these might be helpful to others. Just need the motivation.

And don't forget, it is my birthday today!

Sort:  

wellcome

Great story ! happy birthday to you ! Get upvote my friend !

Thank you!

Happy birthday :-)

Happy birthday dude, glad to have you here.

Happy bday :)

С Днем рождения - здоровья и счастья в семейной жизни .Приводи жену в Steemit после свадьбы !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31