Belated Introduction

Who is Mike Lorrey?
I am a technical and scifi author. I am an entrepreneur with interests in virtual reality, space, energy, gadgets, and blockchains. I was the cocreator of bitgold, the prototype for bitcoin (with Nick Szabo, author of the original 2005 blockchain article, "Unforgeable Costliness"). I am a libertarian activist, former Vice-Chairman of the NH Libertarian Party, one of the original Free State Project participants, and life long New Hampshire resident, where I am active in state politics.

In politics I have a few claims to fame: I helped Killington VT in their historic vote to secede from their state and rejoin New Hampshire. I also wrote the NH State Constitutional Amendment to restrict Eminent Domain after the disastrous New London v Kelo decision to vastly expand the ability of corporations to abuse eminent domain for their own profit. My amendment passed a statewide vote by 86%, and our activism went on to inspire similar reforms in over 40 other states, after we proposed eminent domaining the NH vacation homes of SCOTUS Justices Breyer and Souter to demonstrate the injustice of the Kelo decision they were part of the majority opinion on.

I am also an active 2nd amendment activist, and have served as an officer in several shooting clubs. I am a US Air Force veteran, who still takes seriously his oath to defend the constitution against all enemies, foreign AND domestic, but is the first to tell you not to thank me for my service, it's YOU who ensures your own liberty.

I've written a number of proprietary software manuals you have never heard of, and am venturing into the science fiction genre with my first novel soon, titled "Solutrean Atlantis", which will be the first book of a trilogy. I used to write the International Libertarian blog, and contributed to the number one science and climate blog on the planet, "Watts Up With That?"

I was a leader in the virtual economy of Second Life, sort of e-famous there as a major land baron by the name of IntLibber Brautigan, and founded the biggest virtual stock exchanges, the first real crowdfunding websites, helping dozens of virtual world residents to capitalize their startups. Since then I've become an advocate for merging blockchains with virtual world economies, and decentralizing virtual worlds so that one company cannot monopolize the community, stealing people's property and excluding competitors.

I like to ski, hunt, take walks with my dog Ginger, fish, and read. I hope you like what I have to say here.

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit Community!

Welcome to Steemit! If you would like to see statistics of any post on Steemit, you can use Steemd.com. I have made a bookmark for your convenience in accessing Steemd. https://steemit.com/steemd/@craigwilliamz/steemd-statistics-bookmark-for-easy-access-to-steemd

Which movies or books have made a big impact on you?

Books: I'm big on scifi novels, particularly anything by Heinlein, Neal Stephenson, Allen Steele, SM Stirling, H Beam Piper, Vernor Vinge, L Neil Smith, among others. I keep about 400+ in my kindle along with a plethora of other books. Contrary to many libertarians, I'm not an Ayn Rand fan, but not a hater either. David Friedman's "The Machinery of Freedom", Hayek's "The Road to Serfdom", as well as work by Mises, John Locke, Blackstone's "Commentaries on the Law", Cusanus' writings on public choice theory, John Stuart Mill, and all the way back to Aristotle and Plato.
Movies:

Movies: Big on scifi again: Star Wars, Firefly/Serenity, AI, Gravity, Blade Runner, but also classics like Casablanca and 'so bad they're good' movies like "Evil Dead: Army of Darkness", lol.

Love thy neighbor as thyself: Do not to others what thou wouldn't not wish be done to thyself: Forgive injuries. Forgive thy enemy, be reconciled to him, give him assistance, invoke God in his behalf.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43