Hello world! I'm Michael Porterfield, a Photographer and Outdoor Enthusiast from Small-Town AlaskasteemCreated with Sketch.

7.jpg

Hey there steemit community! I'm a portrait photographer specializing in artificial and studio lighting. I've lived most of my life in Palmer, Alaska and I truly do believe everyone should come and see this beautiful state sometime in their lives.

I specialize in portrait photography.

But I also dabble with other genres.

I hope my work can be a resource for anyone learning or interested in photography and lighting. I'll be providing lighting diagrams, gear used, as well as inexpensive gear alternatives that can net a similar result because honestly pro gear can cost you an arm, leg and often your first-born.

In 2018 I'll be expanding into more on-location portrait work and I'm very excited to see where this new rabbit hole takes me.

A few more things about me: I play guitar, own a Harley, am a former gold miner and make some mean enchiladas. Also, I have a pretty cool dog named Foxy. She's 8 years old and a total goofball.

Foxy.jpg

Thanks everyone, I'm excited to be a part of the community!!

For more of my work, visit 500px, Instagram and My Website

Sort:  

Welcome fellow Alaskan photographer! I'm from Anchorage. Your portraits are lovely!

Small world! Thank you! :)

Nice! Another awesome photographer :) love these shots!
Excited to see your work and learn from it.

Thanks for the kind words! If you ever have any questions or would like me to elaborate on anything don't hesitate to drop a comment!

I will certainly do that! :)

Hey welcome... i mean I just started posting this week.

Looks like a good handful of PROs have been jumping on this week.
We shall see what becomes of it right?

I should probably do one of these Introduction posts. I'll get around to it good shots. I look forward to future posts.

Thanks for the welcome! I too am curious on the results. I have a pretty small social following so I'm curious if that will have any impact here.

I like your work, followed! Definitely take the time to make an introduction post, even if it's short. It can get a lot of insight into what you're all about. :)

The one stop shop for everything Photography. Glad you're here!

Happy to be here!

Hey Mike!
Welcome! I'm fairly new to the community as well, but glad to have you here! I really enjoy your photography, you have a great sense of lighting, and there seems to be a lot of culture and personality in your portraits.
Alaska looks amazing. i am from Vermont and have always wanted to visit Alaska.
Anyways, welcome, and have fun!

Thank you for the welcome and kind words Herbert!

Congratulations @mikefromak, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81