Live your life to fullest potential, it's never too late to start!

HELLO STEEM! Welcome to my life...

First of, I would like to say that I am HUGE fan of technology! Not in the sense that I go out and buy a bunch of the latest and greatest, but more in the "I watch a lot of tech related YouTube videos" sort of way, which led to my involvement in the programming field and the development of my first app.

my first app update.jpg

Nothing crazy but just enough to get my feet wet, it's still a work in progress. I'll make more posts about this app as I keep developing it.

This deep interest of technology is fairly new to me, about a year (give or take a few months). I've always found technology fascinating but never considered getting involved in the field, until I saw a YouTube video in which Dr. Michio Kaku (theoretical physicist, futurist) blatantly claims that the U.S. education system is the worst education system known to science and that our graduates compete regularly at the level of third world countries. He then goes on to say that if it wasn't for the H-1B, which he refers to as the "genius Visa", our scientific establishment would collapse. Essentially, in this video he is stating that this country is producing a bunch of morons, that at the end of the day it's not going to be sociology majors that will push technology forward and that we rely on other country's students to develop new technology for us.

dr-michio-kaku.jpg

As a recent grad, B.A. Public Relations, and pursuing a career in marketing, this video left me speechless. Growing up, I always considered myself to be a smart student, at least when it came to math and science, I would easily understand any concepts that were hard for others to get a good handle on and usually found myself helping other students with their work. Watching this video was really tough for me, I felt that I wasting so much potential on something I really had no interest in, other than the money. I suddenly saw myself in the future looking back on my life, regretting not getting involved with technology, but more importantly, not living life to my fullest potential.

midnightCode-banner.jpg

I decided the best way for me to get involved was by learning code. I started with Javascript over at freecodecamp.org, did that for about two months then discovered the field of Artificial Intelligence(AI) and Machine Learning(ML). I decided to ditch javascript, start learning python, go through Khan Academy, learn calculus, learn linear algebra, take a few data analysis courses and then dive into AI and ML all while working full time. Woah, was I tripping hard. While this might be possible, I decided that this might not be the best approach for me, since I am not a very focused individual and that I would enjoy this journey a lot more if I were to create things I actually want to see out in the world right now, apps. That's when I decided to pick up the new programming language Swift and ditch Javascript (although you can create apps with JS), turns out it is perfect for me since I own both and iMac and an iPhone and with the free tools Apple provides, it's a really fun experience. I will be documenting my programming journey here on Steemit and DTube, which brings us to the next subject, YouTube/Dtube and Crypto.

download.jpg

Right now I work for a company that decided to get involved with YouTube, not with its own brand but by creating brand new channels, non related to the company. I work with three other guys and we currently run 4 different channels. We've been on YT for about a year and a half and have seen some amazing success as well as some major disappointments. While pretty much living on YouTube, we ran into a lot of Bitcoin and Blockchain videos. This caught the interest of one of my co-workers and he invested into crypto, which got the rest of us to invest.

As I was doing some research (watching YT videos) on this new technology, I discovered Steemit and DTube. Right away I knew that this was the future of social media, and with all the demonetization problems over at YouTube, possibly the future of video sharing. I signed up for an account and got @cakemovesmikey to make an account as well. Then we made an account for one our channels, this is the first post https://steemit.com/gaming/@superherogamesq/better-than-justice-league-marvel-studios-avengers-infinity-war-official-trailer-reaction. We're coming in guns blazing!
Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 9.55.27 PM.png

Right now my goal is to become a well versed Swift developer and truly understand the programming language at its core. A lot of developers I follow on YouTube say that once you have a deep understanding of one programming language, learning another is fairly simple, which is what I plan on doing with Swift moving over to Python. I really want to get involved with Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence and Blockchain technologies, for as many of us know, they are the future. I really want to contribute and be on the frontier of technological advances, this will definitely not be an easy life, but it will be fucking worth it. Blood and tears for sure, well more like headaches and tears.

I welcome you to come on this journey with me and see what is like to live life doing the things you are passionate about, but more importantly growing old and not having regrets about what could have been...

Thank you for your time.

Any feedback is much appreciated.

Sort:  

the one and only ;)
did you get a notification ? or you just on it like that?

Welcome

As my interest in crypto and steemit develops I keep thinking to myself I should educate myself about coding fe more.

Do you think it was beneftial for you to start with javascript? Or how would you recoment to start now?

It really depends on what is it you want to accomplish with your code, JavaScript is a good language to learn because it can be used to build a lot different things, I’ve even seen tutorials on creating a blockchain with JS, also freecodecamp.org does an amazing job of walking you through the language and the online community is very active. Of course, if there is something specific you want to accomplish there are languages that are more suited for those jobs. JavaScript will always be your best friend for building the front end of websites.

Thx a lot for the detailed answer. Not really sure what I want to accomplish though. Will see a friend of mine suggested it to me as it would be a good start

yeah it definitely is, you can branch out into different technologies from it.

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad to see you getting involved here and joining in. I hope your experience here is pleasant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34