A girl who's discovering her voice...

I was relatively a "good" girl since I was little. Still is now. haha :D I listened to my parents most of the time. From big things like which course to study, to small things like what outfit I can wear when I go out. So I rarely have any comments. Hence I believed for many years that I am a no-opinion & always a "yes" person.

As I get older, I realize I can't make decision on my own. The 1st question that always comes to my mind, "Will my parents be ok with this?", instead of thinking constructively on my own whether "is this what you really need/want?". As I traced back the root of the issue, I realize it is due to this incident that happened when I was little. I remember wanting to wear this T shirt to the zoo, but my mum insist that I must wear a dress (which I don't know why). I fought and cried. End up, I wore that dress to the zoo. Hahaha. From then on, many similar incidents happened and unknowingly I have gave up my rights on making any decisions in my life and lose my voice along the way, since I know I'm not gonna be heard and my opinion doesn't matter anyway.

However through a funny incident, I started to discover a glimpse of how my voice sounded like when I was 14. I was put on stage to sing & play the piano on a last-minute request. FYI, I've never sing or like to sing or has any interest in music at all back then. That was definitely a cold sweat moment, but I did it anyway and surprisingly got a standing ovation from the audience. In the back of my mind, I was thinking, "O......h.....? I can sing? ". Even with this new talent I've discovered, I'd always believe that my voice doesn't worth anything. So why sing? What is that so special about me when there's so many great voices out there?

Fast forward to recent years, as I come to know the Lord Jesus Christ, singing has become so much more significant than before. Singing out loud is celebrating what He has created in me & for me. This voice has entrusted to me, not to compare, but to sing and worship Him! To know that He will miss my voice if I don't sing to Him, makes me want to sing even louder and give all my heart to Him. From then on, singing has brought so much joy in me. Singing makes me happy! :)

A year plus ago, I wrote my first song to God, titled "You Are Enough". Its a very personal song that I've written about how God was saying how I am so enough for Him just by being who I am and I don't have to be perfect to start anything. So if you like singing, sing! If you like dancing, dance! If you want to try competition, go!

And so I did. After days of hesitation & mind-struggling moments, with a mindset of just trying out by faith & out of curiosity, I joined Sing China's Season 2 Malaysia audition last March. The China version of The Voice. Although I didn't get to stand on that chair-turning stage that you always see on TV (which I don't really mind actually haha), I managed to get a spot in the Top 3 in Malaysia.

And I realize, Its not so much about what I can do with what I have, its more of what He can do through me as I surrender and avail myself to Him. I surely doesn't have the greatest voice on earth, but I do have a God-given unique voice with a unique purpose that I can use it to sing or share things that He has spoken over my life to bless people around me. So I bless you to have the same courageous heart too! Know that you don't have to be perfect to start anything, in fact, no one else is.

Do what you can, with what you have, at where you are. ~ Theodore Roosevelt

This will be my introductory post for now. Much thanks to @danielwong for introducing me to the Steemit Community. I hope to continue to share snippets of my life story and hope you are blessed in many many ways! Thanks for your time Steem-ians! Happy New Year to all of you! :)

Sort:  

Good to finally have you on Steemit. Welcome and welcome to #teammalaysia as well :D

Thanks for your time to explain and introducing me to Steemit! :D

Welcome to teammalaysia.

Thanks meili! :D

Welcome to Steemit! We need some music people here!

Haha yes we sure do! Thanks for the warm welcome. Happy new year to you!

I am so proud of you that you discovered your talent early on and congrats on making it to the top 3 spot. We are indeed special in God's eyes though we feel nothing special about us. But somehow by God's grace, we become God's greatest treasures. Jesus would not have died if that is not true, right? Thank you for sharing your story :)

Thanks for your encouragement @coloringiship. Yes! We are His beloved and will forever be so precious in His eyes! We are so so loved by the Father above! :D

Great post! I believe we are on the right path to learn and to earn as well! Let's build a great steem together, do more posts! It's getting really exciting. Following you see my work and follow back✌️Happy New Year!

Yup will do. Thank you and happy new year to you too!

Happy new year my friend and welcome to steemit.
I'm glad you joined and would be happy to follow you ..
Have a good time and every question you have I would love to answer you ..
Note that there are robots here and you will be aware of it

Ah ok, will take note on that. Thanks for ur advice! Happy new year abmoshe!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michelleloh168 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

awesome .. welcome to steem @michelleloh168 great to have you onboard teammalaysia

Hey there! Thanks for the warm welcome :D

Congratulations @michelleloh168, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Amazing introductory post! Look forward to hear more snippets of your life story. :)

Thabks cally! Look forward to hear more of your awesome stories too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45