An Introduce Myself post and a plot to take over the world ... of fictionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers!

Ho ho ho ... Christmas has passed, and I thought that I would bring New Year tidings to you all, in the hopes that 2017 becomes the year of Steemit! It looks like 2016 was a big year for Steemit, but things have just gotten started! So has my storytelling!

For over 20 years I have written fiction and poetry, but I always wrote for people and not the publishers. I would write a story and give it to my friends episode-by-episode or chapter-by-chapter, and it was fun to entertain and be entertained by their reactions. Much of what I write is speculative fiction, including horror, sci-fi/fantasy and psychological thrillers, so it's always great to see my friends and family squirm while reading my stories.

I realized that this sort of episodic fiction isn't what magazines and publishers look for, but it's how I think. Maybe I watched too much TV in my childhood, or read too many Stephen King books (which are the only books that publishers will touch that contain 1,000 pages, stream-of-consciousness storytelling, and terrible endings).

And then came Steemit!

Now I can serialize fiction as much as I want, and receive some income. I love the fact that I can retain full creative ownership while also making my stories freely accessible to the public online. It's a bit of a win-win situation (maybe not for the publishers!)

I have a few hundred stories, poems, and an epic novel that I will publish on Steemit. Over twenty years ago, I wrote the novel called "Messiah" about a woman who wakes up in a motel in the middle of nowhere not knowing who she is or how she got there, and being stalked by a man wearing a flannel shirt. The story unfolds, revealing a sinister plot of evil that tries to subvert two worlds, where she is caught in the middle. It's a creepy supernatural thriller which is perfectly suited for publishing on Steemit due to it's episodic content! The novel will probably contain about 500 chapters, and will be quite a tour de force on Steemit.

Not only do I write stories and poetry, but I also enjoy traveling and writing about interesting places (that's me canoeing in Portland, OR!). I've backpacked around the Western U.S., and plan to travel internationally. One of the centerpieces of my travel writing is visiting local libraries to see what the local communities value in terms technological access to information.

Thanks for stopping by!

To keep updated on new stories and story chapters, follow me here, or like my page on Facebook (https://facebook.com/michaeladamparis/). You can also add your email to my blog: What I love is that I also found an app that syndicates Steemit posts to your Wordpress blog, which took me a month to figure out, but I did it! My blog is now at:
(http://www.michaeladamparis.com) (Thanks to @wordpress-tips @fabien and others for this app!)

I look forward to creepin' you out.

My first storyline: "Escape from the Noh" just posted today! -
(https://steemit.com/fiction/@michaeladamparis/escape-from-the-noh-an-original-story-part-1)

@michaeladamparis

Sort:  

Cool photos, hello from USA.

Thanks, which State? I am in California.

The land of beer and cheese, Wisconsin!

You can write your book the Messiah is here)
Welcome from Siberia)
Upvoted & Followed)

I definitely will! Thanks for the support!

Welcome to Steemit. You're going to love it here.

Thank you, it's a creative place!

Hey, Michael!
Nice to see another creative spirit in here. Please do consider registering in steemit chat, that will help You a lot (I am talking about being visible to the great part of the community)!

Steem on and do not give up!

Looking forward to reading the first chapter of Messiah!

Thanks, it is an exciting tale! I should begin it in summer, following a flurry of editing!

NIceeeee :))) I am also new here and I also love writing and post some too! I look forward to your posts! Welcome and greetings from Serbia :)))

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.75 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Welcome to Steemit! I'll make sure to follow you and check out your writing :)

I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48