You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greetings from the Great Plains!

Welcome to Stemmit, from a fellow newbie. Beautiful property you have there. My wife and I have bought our retirement home too, and are working to fix it up as well. We've got six years left before we retire and move there full time. I see you like history. I'm a historian and history writer myself. Welcome to the forum, fellow 4-21-18 classmate! Please do follow me, and I'll go follow you as soon as I finish typing this.

Sort:  

Thank you @mepatriot! I have followed you, I really like your blog! A Christian Constitutionalist from Maine?
I didn't now there was such a thing up there, I thought that was Liberal Land! lol. I'm going to go read all your stuff, you must be a prolific writer which I'm not. I'm like an old rooster scratching around in the dirt hoping to find something to eat, that's the way I feel when it comes to writing but I'm gonna try anyways.

Oh yea, bro. Northern Maine is very much like Texas, except COLDER. Lots of gun-toting conservatives up here. We call Aroostook County (the largest east of the Mississippi) the "real Maine."...lol...

I've been writing a long time and never made any real money, but for me it's more about sharing discoveries and doing my part to keep our country sane. I am what some would call a "revisionist" historian, but if you ask me, I'm just trying to restore some of what the real revisionists have ruined/hidden/revised.

@mepatriot I suddenly love Northern Maine! I like real wood-burning fireplaces so I could get used to the cold! I love your mission to educate and help preserve the Republic.
Is your retirement property also in Maine?

Yeah...just as rural too, but it's in northern Penobscott County in a little lakeside community called "Norcross"...population 22.

Man, I burn 8 cords of wood in this big old farmhouse I'm in now. You can't beat wood heat. Hoping to reduce our costs significantly when we get into the "new place" though. It's actually a younger house than any of our kids are, whereas we've lived in two homes that are both pre-1850 up to now. The wife is looking forward to retiring to a place with fewer maintenance and upkeep requirements.

Ya'll have some strange county names up there! Indian names?
And 2 pre-1850 homes? wow, what are they, log homes?
Yeah I bet your wife is looking forward to a younger home! lol.

But for an Historian is sounds kinda cool.

Yes, Indian names. Just those two counties I've named are like half the state. Huge land-wise, but fairly sparsely populated.

No, not logs...old stick-built farm houses.

Yeah, the wife definitely deserves this new place we bought. It will be a nice change for me too. I wasn't going to be cutting and stacking 8 cords a year into my 60s...lol...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63