You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DON'T ASK AN ALCOHOLIC TO CHOOSE BETWEEN YOU AND THE BOTTLE - COUNSELLING SESSION

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I quite agree with you to some certain extent, but not completely. I see alcoholism like any other addiction, and it takes lots of discipline to overcome it.

We all have encountered difficulties in our lives and never found solace in the bottle not because it was that difficult, but because we decided NEVER to go down that path.

That is why I feel most alcoholics choose to be one not because they can't control themselves, but because they have decided not to even give it a try.

Majority of alcoholics are lazy, selfish, broke, and got nothing to lose. So what do they do is to pass off their misery to the closest person just to cause them heartaches and have them share in their frustrations.

But trust me when I say that most of those alcoholics act on purpose by drinking to stupor just to draw unnecessary attention to themselves. And that is why no matter how drunk they are, they never forget a thing!

What I'm trying to say in essence is that we all have been addicted to certain things in our lives, but we were able to free ourselves because we made a bold decision.

That is why I think it's high time alcoholics stopped playing the victim by making people believe they can't control themselves.

Sort:  

I agree a lot more with mayib than with this post. Addicts of whatever drug should get their act together.
Whether it is tobacco, coffee, alcohol, cocaine, heroine or whatever, if you get addicted you're a looser and you need a slap in the face much more than all this compassion and soft treatments.
If my partner got addicted, she would have to choose. Choose the drug, and you're alone.

Hi there mage, thanks for your comment. If it was that simple to recover from any addiction, I'd be out of a job lol x

LOL, definitely not my kind of job!

Hi there Mayib, thanks so much for your comment. The point of this article was what I told my client - SHE can't stop him from drinking, only HE can do that. The poor woman had been driving herself crazy thinking that she could do something to help him.

I agree that some of us never choose to go down that path but the alcoholic doesn't realise that they are an alcoholic until it's too late. Like I said, no chooses to be an alcoholic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28