introducing mattyfu, the vintage clothing selling nerdwad who thinks he's pretty clever

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hi I'm mattyfu!

I'm passionate about small business, music and being a fatty fat face food. I've been fartin around on steemit for a few days now and I see some real potential but unfortunately I can't see into the future to see if it will be realized or not. I'd like to see the tags become more like communities of common interests, currently they're kind of a mess but everyone's still learning where they fit in and that is one of the things that excites me about this platform :-) 


I grew up in Alberta part of the prairies of Canada, it's home to the oft maligned oil sands. We get cold winters and pleasant summers here. In the next few months me and my wife are selling our house and making a move to the province of British Columbia. I'm currently sitting on a camp chair on my front lawn waiting for a storage bin to be dropped off. I've never sold a house before and never moved more than an hour away so it's a totally new experience. When we move we will actually be living in what is classified as a semi-arid desert so that will be a huge change but I'm really excited for a shorter and milder winter. Being closer to our nieces and nephews on my wife's side of the family will be great as well because those little kids are hilarious. When we move I'm hoping to start a small business, I currently have a side-hustle selling vintage clothes at an antique mall so I might try to swing that into selling online or I have a couple B2B service idea's I might pursue. Nothing crazy that will grow exponentially or anything exciting like that just pounding the pavement and hopefully making a reasonable living.

I enjoy research and learning which is how I ended up getting into selling antiques and then eventually focusing in on vintage clothing and then to a certain extent focusing in even further on mens workwear. There's just something about a piece of clothing that was built well enough to last someones entire lifetime of use and then another 60+ years on top of that before it gets to me.  I'm not very disciplined though, I have stuff that falls well outside of my main focus area. The non-clothing vintage and antique stuff I am a sucker for are: typewriters, pressure lamps and stoves, lighters, trunks and suitcases, homesteading or woodworking tools and metal lunch or tool boxes. The pressure lamps and stoves are my favorite to take on as projects because when you get it right your rewarded with a super bright light confirming how awesome you are and when your not you get a fireball of woops.


So that's me I'm excited to be here and hopefully share with you all the things I'm interested in and know some stuff about.

Cheers,

mattyfu

Sort:  

Interesting thoughts

Awesome to have you on board!

Welcome to Steemit! My Friend- Greeting From xem


A little thought and a little kindness are often worth more than a great deal of money. John Ruskin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44