That's how it goes

Hello there,

The video you're about see was a uni project back in 2012. It pretty much sums up my general view on things and the way I was brought up.

Since it was almost exactly 6 years ago that I sat down a week before the deadline and started to put this video together, some parts need minor adjustments, some others need to be elaborated and I'd also like to sum up what has happened to me ever since. So without any further ado, here is the video itself, and then i'll get to the rest.

(the music in the video is from The Naked and Famous, the two tracks are 'The Source' and 'The Sun')

i do not own the music rights

(there are some grammar mistakes in the subtitles, but they've never been corrected due some technical difficulties, and so they will stay like this, unfortunately)

I was kind of an egocentric douchebag, wasn't I? Well, things in that matter haven't changed much. But I never really burnt myself and I'm afraid they won't change until I do so - which I don't intend to by any means. Burning myself I mean.

Let's start with the minor corrections that might not be relevant ones, but they do mean something to me, so I guess they are, after all.

17505207_10212131784314185_5293056527105927666_o.jpg

First, I did come back to Budapest in the end, and I'm working here now. It doesn't suck at all. I'm in a privileged position though, as I work in the film industry, which is booming here right now. Both domestic films - many festival awards from the last years, including the Academy, Berlin, Cannes, Karlovy Vary , just to name a few - and international films - that are turning up in great numbers, with great teams - are enjoying a healthy and steady growth.

It's a great feeling to be involved in films such as the new Blade Runner 2049 for example, and the way I see it, they are paying me great money to learn from the best (on the side note, Roger should really win that damned Oscar this year).
I came back for two reasons, one of which I spoke above, the other being the fact that I've had enough of London...for good. It was way too big, way too noisy, waaaaaay to expensive for no good reason really, and i couldn't really find my place there. So after 5 long years, I moved home. That was 3 and a half years ago, and I went through a massive development since. Both professional and personal.

I studied various visual arts, including photography, animation, documentary directing and cinematography, and I think I'm nearing the point where I'm ready to start working on serious projects on my own, with great people I got to know along the way.
Which brings me to the second correction, serious girlfriends.

13119773_10154009381609003_1974089060456624522_o.jpg

Now in the video, i was just before my second love, and way before my third, whom, if I don't fuck things up will be my last. Now, she does documentary directing, and my main profile is cinematography, so on paper, it's a perfect match in every way. That is if we learn how to cooperate properly. But since we are relatively young (I'm turning 30 this year and she is 27), I think we can do it if we really want to.
She opened up gates that i never know existed and I will forever be in her debt for that.

13502925_10154130093564003_2896965491982384056_o.jpg

Correction number three, animal count. Now that might be a less interesting aspect of one's life, it does play a more and more relevant role in my mine, so I'll share.
Tappancs, our only remaining animal, the family dog has passed. I still remember the phone call from my mom - she was utterly desperate and sad, as Tappancs went out into the pouring rain, to the middle of the garden, never to get up again. Since then, both my parents - who are separated and not on the best terms still - got new dogs around the same time, one of them is called Bojti, the other is Bojta. What are the chances?
My dad got another one just before Christmas. My girlfriend and I got a cat almost 2 years ago, besides that the fact that I always hated them and thought they are selfish douchebags. I don't that anymore, and I love her a lot. She is called Meru and is a fantastic creature, partly because she is half a dog I suspect.

szarvas.jpg

I'm getting more connected to nature due to many reasons, and because of that, some of our future projects revolve around wildlife preservation, and measuring the damage that's been done, trying to encourage people to live a more environmentally conscious life. We are really determined, and that's a good start.

In the past eight months, I've ditched work and did nothing basically other than travel, read books and watch films. I also started developing some projects that will give me the chance to go next level, so now I really need get back to it, mostly for myself and for financial reasons, obviously.
If this thing goes well, I'll put the money towards projects that i'm passionate about.

12804726_10208918219737079_6434208137122008957_n.jpg

With these three points I pretty much covered all that needs to be addressed at first, so I don't feel the need to elaborate more. I might, along the way when the time is right, but that should do it for an introduction. I don't do instagram, nor post on facebook, I was always too lazy and unmotivated to build a website, and my imdb profile isn't totally up to date either, so you can't check me anywhere else for now. I don't feel the need to share shit with others, I've got great friends, family and a great girlfriend.

But I got to be honest, it feels nice to write things down, even if nobody reads it.

That's how it goes.

I think in the future I might be writing on things that I'm deeply interested in, or about things that pop in my mind, and will be sharing photos for sure that were buried for selfish reasons, and might share some videos along the way as well.

I will be concentrating on sharing content that comes from me, and not that of others'. We'll see how it goes, but for now I'm most excited.

Cheers,

Máté Pálla

Sort:  

Nos, mégiscsak megtaláltam a bemutatkozásodat! :))) Bár szavazni már nem tudok rá. A legutóbbi posztodhoz írtam már pár sort. Értékes, amit csinálsz, de elvész a sok-sok poszt között. Itt az ideje kiemelkedni :))) Ebben segítek!

szuperjol hangzik :) koszonom a szavazatokat!

Congratulations @mattepalla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56