Diary of a Mid-Life Crypto Crisis

Today is my last day at my job. I am getting laid off from a well paying job as an automotive service advisor, that I enjoy.

Now, most folks would greet this sort of unexpected news with a lot of FUD(Fear, Uncertainty, Doubt). In tough situations I like to borrow some Buddhist philosophy - namely - Events happen, then we react to them. We often cannot control the events, but we CAN control our emotions.

My initial reaction to those words "I have to let you go" were...oh lord what will my wife think?

IMG_1792.JPG
(me on the far left, my wife, and her family)

Turns out, after giving her all the details, we both arrived at the same reaction - excitement.

We have chosen not to give in to despair. Instead, we look forward to the next chapter in our lives and what that has to offer.

To begin, I am going to take a brief sabbatical. My first priority, as boring as it is, will be to catch up on some projects around my house. We have already purged our possessions a bit, in an effort to become more minimalists. I plan de-cluttering, cleaning, fixing, and handy-manning the crap out of my house. I love gardening, so i plan to expand my growing space, among other things.

In the first phase I plan to take some unemployment benefits. After all, I have been paying into all these social programs, and have never taken advantage of them. Between some crypto trading, and tutoring high school and college students, I hope to keep some time free for other interests.

I want to put some time into my relationships, which have been neglected due to being gone 12+hours a day for my job and commute. I have wonderful friends I have set aside in priority of seeking wealth.

I would like to make a commitment to my future followers. In addition to making weekly posts on this blog, I will be starting a youtube/Dtube channel in conjunction with the blog. My goal is to create a support group for individuals either in similar situations as myself, or people looking for effective ways to free themselves from the 50 hour work week.

As you will learn in future posts, my wife and I have had a turbulent past few months. As a result, our worldview and priorities have changed.

The long term goal of this diary is to show the story of how someone can pursue their dreams, and make them concrete things.

Kaitlyn_448sm3_TonyValainisEmmisPublishing.jpg
(Source: Tony ValainisEmmisPublishing)

My wife and I love travel. and family. and beer. We have been fortunate enough to travel abroad and decided that should be a goal of ours - to continue traveling and exploring all the wonderful things the world has to offer. I will be traveling from Indiana, where I live, to Colorado to spend some time with my parents and sister. We also want to plan a trip to Asia - spend some time in Japan, Thailand, South Korea. After all, no job I start will give me enough vacation time to go there.

What you will see in future posts will be the day-to-day efforts of a man with a desire to provide the best possible future for his family.

I would be remiss to at least not attempt to provide the ideal lifestyle for us. I want flexibility in my work schedule. I want multiple sourced passive income. I want freedom to travel and see my family. I want time to nurture our future children. I don't want them to be raised by strangers. I want liberty.

So I invite you all to join me in our mutual quest to live a life more in line with our own personal values, as opposed to the ones society as whole values.

I am looking forward to helping each other in many ways. You can begin by offering advice, sharing your own story, or simply upvoting and following and sharing so others can share in the discussion.

Look for my next post this coming weekend.

Until then, be kind, be fearless, and keep HODLing!

20160812_123144.jpg
(NO! That's not a fanny pack. It's my hiprider. That's right. I'm bringing it back.)

  • Massiv
Sort:  

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,you can follow me @donkelly

Bravo buddy. In pursuit of happiness and rightness.

Dude you have good eye for women, very pretty wife you got.

Have some good free time while being laid off and hope something even better than what you had comes by (jobwise)

Cheers

Thanks man. I can say with utmost certainty I lucked out in the wife department. That 2nd photo is from a magazine article about her and her success in the craft beer industry.

welcome here wish you have a good time

Congratulations @massivattack708! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60457.50
ETH 2430.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51