My Steemit Introduction: Life after employment in the healthcare fieldsteemCreated with Sketch.

Hello to everyone….. After over 20+ years in the healthcare field I decided to quit and find a more meaningful direction for my life.
Time to quit your job.jpg
I was a Certified Registered Nurse Practitioner and early on in my career I felt very gratified. As time went on though, that satisfaction waned with the intrusive behavior of the hospital, insurance and pharmaceutical industries. I found that it was difficult to treat my patients in their interest. It was all about how many tests and immunizations I could order to fill the purses of those who financially gained from the medical orders I was instructed to write. In essence I felt that my patients were losing out, financially and with their ability to have constructive input into their care. The “upselling” that takes place in the medical field is simply out of control. Long gone are the days when you could recommend a safe, inexpensive home remedy that had worked for generations, because those methods are not considered “standards of care” in the wonderful computer system that now monitors every aspect of a healthcare providers day.
Mary nursing grad.jpg
(my daughter @camille1234 wanted me to share a photo of me in the beginning of my career)

So after receiving 100% on my Press Ganey (my monthly report card) I decided to QUIT and I have never looked back. Now, I am pursuing life in a healthy direction and attempting to spread blessings as I move along this new path.

Today I am a Wife, Nana, and Master Gardener; I also enjoy sewing, knitting, and spinning yarn. All those areas in my life were constantly put on the back burner for years because my “career” sucked the life out of me. Focusing on a healthy diet by avoiding all the toxic garbage that has invaded our food system is also a high priority. 20170220_152330.jpg

Sure, I no longer have the flow of income that I once had but I have learned that you can’t put a price on health and happiness. The truth is I would never go back. My advice to anyone who finds themselves stuck in a career that they are no longer passionate about is GET OUT BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE!!

20150726_162144.jpg
This is an overview of my garden with so much more to see.

So through Steemit I will try to spread blessings to all of you. I look forward to becoming part of your wonderful community and getting to know you.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, mom!!

Thanks Camille!

Welcome and enjoy pensioners have their own fun.

Thanks I love it here.

Thank you so very much!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Welcome to Steemit. All the best here!

Welcome to Steemit! :))

This post in itself is a blessing. Thank you for sharing and welcome to Steemit! It is so good to see someone living a life of happiness.

Thank you! In reality it took me longer than it should have to quit my job. The fear of the unknown can hold you back. But as they say "there is noting to fear but fear itself"

Welcome and oh wow you're @camille1234 mother! I look forward to seeing what you post :)

I realize she is a tough act to follow..... I am sure you have heard the old adage how the student surpasses the teacher. That is the case here for sure! I am truly blessed because of her.

Welcome, and what a great message. I hope to see many more posts.

Welcome and good luck to you in your reinvigorated life! 😁

Can I ask, is there any significance in the pattern in your garden grass? It looks really cool. 😎

It is a Labyrinth a walking meditation an opportunity for prayer. There is only one path that leads from the outer edge to the center. Unlike a maze where you lose your way the Labyrinth is a spiritual tool to find your way. The center of my labyrinth is an elaborate carving of a compass that points true North. Walking the Labyrinth centers oneself , healing leading to a place of wholeness.
Thank you for asking. I hope you have a blessed day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47