Introducing The Rabbit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Marx the Rabbit and I'm a 31 year old doctoral student mommy from the Appalachian Mountains in Tennessee.

So why Marx? Well Marx is the name of my real life bunny rabbit who I've had for 7 years. I majored in Sociology in college and wanted to name my bunny after someone I had learned about in classes so I chose Karl Marx. My husband and I thought it would be humorous to name a cute lil bunny rabbit after the author of The Communist Manifesto. I was a Sociology instructor for 6 years at a local university and Marx was one of the big theorists I gave lectures on to my students.

48005_820125281614_297449752_n.jpg
(My own picture of my Marx rabbit)

What do I want you to know about me?

Well I recently had a baby...well 6 months ago. My life revolves around my little girl and every adorable thing she does. She's a tiny girl who was born early weighing 3 pounds 11 oz. She's now a whopping 13 pounds and growing fast.

I am currently finishing up my doctorate in Sociology. I'm basically a career student and have been in college since the age of 18. I'm working on my dissertation now and hopefully will finish this summer. I love studying people and analyzing the world around me.

I love to write. I've been on different writing sites in the past like hubpages, bubblews, persona paper, etc. etc. There's too many to list. I use to be littleblacwolf10 for those who knew me. I gave up the online writing world to have a baby and finish school. It's been a while since I've written anything online and thought steemit seemed like a good place to start back up.

I like having "projects." What I mean is I like being challenged and I'm always trying something new. I taught myself to quilt, woodworking, different technologies, cooking, and more. I like trying new things and always have some kind of project under my belt. Right now I have a ton of old pallets in my yard and I'm teaching myself to build furniture with them.

I look forward to reading and meeting new friends here. I hope I can entertain others with my stories and thoughts.

Sort:  

Hi @marxrab you sound like an amazing person! My friend @kiwideb told me about your post and said I must come check it out. I am a teacher from South Africa. (I think if I had to study now I would die.) I am way too lazy to go back to the books! I also love writing and I am sure that Steemit will be one of the best projects that you will ever do. The community is quite amazing and I have met some great people here. Just enjoy this.

Well thank you for stopping by and reading my introduction! I love writing communities like Steemit and I'm enjoying finding my way to other writers. I'm glad I'm at the end of my education. Learning is harder the older I get. Teaching is such a fun profession. When I'm done with school I hope to teach again. It's nice to meet you and I'll check out your page in a few to read some of your work.

Welcome wabbit, I mean rabbit, to the community.
#whysocurious me is wondering about the mountains you are from.
Looks like an interesting place.

Thank you! The Appalachian mountains in Tennessee. They are beautiful. They're called the Smokey Mountains here because the fog covers the tops looking like smoke.

welcome to steemit...^^

Thank you!

Hi Marx, welcome to Steemit :-)

Being from New Zealand, about all I know about the Appalachian Mountains is what I learnt from the movie Songcatcher with Aiden Quinn and the brilliant Janet McTeer. I imagine it's a bit different now.
Enjoy Steemit!

That's a really good movie. lol. Yes things have changed quite a bit since then. Some newer movie "Big Stone Gap" with Ashley Judd and Whoopi Goldberg was filmed here and the plot revolves around the town near here. That's a close to current Appalachian Mountain movies as I can think of. Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77