My story

Greetings fellow steemians, I'm so excited to be joining this community!

Photo on 7-21-18 at 08.47.jpg

I'm a Peruvian-born citizen of Earth who currently resides in Morehead City, North Carolina with my loving wife and my two beautiful boys as well as our Brussels Griffon and tabby cat. We recently moved to North Carolina from Brooklyn to be closer to family (two boys are a lot of work!) and so that I could pursue a Ph.D. at the University of North Carolina Institute of Marine Sciences. My lifelong passion is the study of sharks, especially related to their conservation. I am on a scholarship paid for by the Peruvian government and will return to Peru with my family upon graduating to start a career researching sharks there. My dream is to aid in protecting sharks from the threats they face in Peruvian waters. Our family is vegan and we strive to develop traditions that are centered around compassion and care for the earth and all its inhabitants.

I have recently developed a fascination, dare I say borderline obsession with blockchain technology. This comes from a couple of different, and somewhat opposing angles. While I by no means consider myself to be the most tech-savvy member of the community, my research has exposed me to some coding and I have seen the power computers and mathematics have to improve our lives firsthand. Online communities are often proudly free and open-sourced with an ethos of collaboration and sharing that give me hope for the future. On the other hand, I have some concerns with the way some technology is affecting our society, especially with some of the tech giants and how they seem to control our lives these days. This recently caused me to end my presence on Facebook, but I do still admittedly use Twitter (selacophile_dad) and Instagram (martinbenavides1). When I heard about a decentralized social media platform, however, I thought, "this is what I've been looking for!"

Having lost my father at 16, I've struggled with depression/anxiety and/or addiction for most of my life (I'm 32), but I consider myself extremely fortunate to be surrounded by friends and family that have always and continue to love and support me. I'm at a point in life where I seek restoration and transformation, for which spirituality and ancient healing traditions have brought me great comfort and wisdom. I am also striving to give of myself in the service of those who are less fortunate or share a need for healing.

It took me over a month to finish writing this (almost 2) so I don't want to oversell my contributions to this community, however I hope to be able to share my experiences in life as authentically as possible on this platform. I find I spend a lot of time deliberating, dividing myself and censoring some of my thoughts and feelings on other social media platforms and I want to try to avoid that here and really present myself as I am: the good, the bad and the ugly. Because I just celebrated my birthday and had a week long vacation to celebrate my son's birthday/July 4th, I can honestly start on an upbeat note! Thanks for reading and I look forward to exploring this new community with you all!

Sort:  

Hello martin.benavides! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

I appreciate this information very much. Definitely will follow to learn more as I try to get my bearings here.

Wanted to welcome you to the Steemit communtiy and be one of your first "upvotes". The entire community is warm so if you have any questions just ask away. I usually write vlogs about travel and Thai food so here's an example I just posted:

"The Taste of Lanna's Kaeng Kradang"

If you "upvote" it, you get part of the curation (part of the money/crypto, amount shown on post) and the same with other posts by other curators.

I hope you keep in touch and look forward to reading your post one day soon. Have a marvelous weekend!

Hey @martin.benavides. Welcome to this wonderful community!! You'll meet interesting people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

'borderline obsession with blockchain technology' - I can relate lol

Salaam, Upvote and follow done1;

welcome to steemit martin. good luck and have a great prosperity

Posted using Partiko Android

welcome to steemit platform.

super post......

Thanks for the feedback, any suggestions for how I could improve the visibility of posts in the future?

Every day spend time on steemit and facebook then 5/6 month later you will get a good result from steemit platform. It's my personal opinion.

I'm sorry, I was mistaken in thinking the "this post was hidden due to low ratings" displayed message came from you, please disregard my previous response.

I realized that the message I saw was an issue due to the phone app (eSteem) I was using, but thanks for the suggestion anyway!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47