One Writer's Take On Why You Should add Steemit.com to Your Regular Writing Sites

I caused a small splash yesterday by questioning the wisdom of reducing residual payouts for content that is perennial here on the block chain. I admit, I am not a highly technical guy, but I can understand it if you talk real slow.

enter image description here

*Having said my piece, I am still here and wholeheartedly engaged in encouraging writers to invest there it time here. If you'll indulge me a bit more, I'll explain. *

First is the potential for large payouts!#

Since the average freelance writer earns about $28.75 US per hour, the potential for several years salary to be earned on Steemit in just a few days, is high!

  • There are several writers that have averaged over $1000.00 per post for a week or more, some multiple posts per day. Even with "profit share" that's $500 a day, or about a month's salary in a 7 day week. Not too shabby.
  • If this money is used wisely, in addition to the investment income Steemit creates through Steem power, an author could make a tidy living for a few years, in just a few weeks.
  • Here's how it breaks down, 1 month of $1000 a day in cash out= $30,000.00 in immediate payouts, plus a second payout in 30 days, which could potentially equal the first, with the right promotion. + a potential $300 a week payout for two years!

** Warning! Objects in mirror may be smaller than they appear!**

$1000.00 a day is not by any means typical, but a good writer could hope to earn a couple hundred, which pays a lot of bills, and most of us are already used to working in multiple platforms, adding Steemit just makes good sense!

Next up is the "new audience" factor!#

We all want more eyeballs, and Steemit is providing those to the tune of about 2000 new accounts per day, looking for content.

  • While the growth may not be sustainable long term, Facebook went through it for over two years and Steemit may be poised to do the same when they come out of Beta.
  • Use the "new" factor to introduce new potential fans to old content. Got a book, articles, or short stories gathering dust in a corber blog somewhere? Share them here. Could be worth a lot.
  • Try previewing premium content by adding a chapter from your book here and linking to your sales page. You never know what might happen!

There is a large apetite right now for Steemit centric content#

For those of us cranking out 2-4k words a day in the freelance market already, what's the challenge in writing up some tips for steemit? This may be on the decline, but as new members are added, they want to know how to succeed. Show them.

  • My #DolphinSchool tag has made me a cool $60 bucks so far and seems to be growinng. heloing others is big business.
  • Figure out your niche, mine is geting people past the first hurdle and into the Dolphin pool, which I am headed for as fast as possible.
  • Be consistent, both in posting and quality. Since the platform really only promotes content for 12 hours, without major upvotes, you need to stay in the streem.

There is some talk of not competing with yourself, but with the categories systme being what it is, it seems to me that content launched every 12 hours, with the same tags doesn't really compete against your other content much, and if you choose several groups of tags to use, you could potentially launch multiple pieces every 12 hours.

Opportunity is always what we make of it#

By cross promoting, the steemit platform has huge potential for growing author platforms and branding, as well as providing funding for outside marketing, and other promotions.

  • Some things we do for the end result, some things we do for the leverage they provide. Steemit gives both, somewhat, without long term residual income, it seems the biggest benefit is leverage.
  • Invite followers to join you on Steemit.com to build your reader base here. Do the same with Steemit followers to your blog and other channels. It's also a good idea to build a list from your steemit connections.
  • Never, ever, make the assumption that any internet platform will stay as it is longterm. It's not in the nature of the beast. Look at changes on Facebook. Those who assumed it would always be easy to reach a huge audience are paying more and more now for a smaller and smaller audience share through ads.

I am determined to see this through for a month and reassess. At the end of that, you may never see my face again. Then, again, you might be seeing me everywhere, I think it more likely that as long as payouts remain available, Steemit will be one stop on my daily journey to earn a living.

Please look below for an upvote link, if you have not joined Steemit yet, why not? They give you free money for joining! Upvote and share if you found this helpful

Sort:  

Steemit is a platform for me now. I blog on my own website and several other sites as a contributor. Steemit has become another platform for me to write, share and get my word out :)

Yeah, I agree, what other platforms are you on, currently, if I may ask?

On The Verge Magazine, The Good Men Project, Sammiches and Psych Meds, Huffington Post - I'm trying to break into Greatist right now, and I'm in the middle of writing a bio as to why I would be a great influencer on Mogul lol

Oh - platforms - Wordpress (my own self hosted site), facebook, pinterest, twitter, tumblr, reddit (although the community suck there at times)

Can you send me a resume? I get requests from people all the time that I'm not right for and I like to spread the wealth.

Sure - I'll send you one tonight or tomorrow - you'll have to give me an hour or two to write it - what's your email?

in a sense you could treat Steemit as just another freelance gig and just keep plugging away until you reach a point that it would profit you to put more time and effort into it. An advantage to it is that this would be a freelance gig that allows you full freedom of creativity to try out new styles and genres to see what flies. Then you can repurpose some of the content to other venues.

Yes, perhaps, but how sustainable is that if it requires fresh meat on a daily basis? Also, without an automation tool to post into the platform, it is waaaay more time consuming than of my other gigs.

true, you could look at it from that perspective. You could also look at it something like sending a piece off to a magazine on spec and they don't pay consistently. I get it, time can be precious. Having some place to try out new material can have value too.

That magazine does not take my article, publish it permanently, with my title and name, where it can be found for free, and never pay me. How many magazines are so unique, you can't publish that piece somewhere else? Not to mention, magazines have set rates, even for spec work. Bad analogy, Shadowspub, I get what you were aiming at,but it's not the same

Welcome to the community!

Greetings!

We should feel sorrow, but not sink under its oppression.

How do you CELEBRATE your victories?

Thanks for the post!!

I'm not sure a month is enough time for this experiment.

Well, it will determine how much effort I will put in going forward, not make up my mind about the entire experience.

Good post!

Thanks, I appreciate the comment.

Ciao! Ciao!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98