Hey Steemit! I'm @Mark4UBI an Entrepreneur from California. I do a lot of digital work, and advocate for UBI! :)

If you want to see my advocation efforts follow me at http://twitter.com/mark4ubi too!

stu_steemit.png

About me

Some of you may know me from vlogging way back when it first started, as SML or Stuart Mark, now I go by "Mark" which is my middle name! I grew up in South Africa 🇿🇦 and moved to California, I love music and was in band, after graduating I got a job at an architectural firm doing graphics. I caught the Entrepreneur bug and started a Videogame company with a few others and we made a game that got onto Steam. It was called ThreadSpace:Hyperbol, it was like "real-time space-tanks" with lots of action and it's very strategic!

hyperbol_on_steam.png

Since the game days ended and the economy tanked I've been involved with many entrepreneurial projects. I run several companies but I don't really want to use Steemit to promote my business projects.

When I have a spare chance I am writing and advocating for UBI! What's UBI? I'll explain it below!

In 2018 I plan on finally launching a nonprofit consulting group called "Sundial" using all my experience from earlier projects, the group will help with digital marketing efforts and materials for nonprofits and organizations that need an extra hand. I may post some updates about "Sundial" here on Steemit if people are interested.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 11.57.43 AM.png

( This is all still a work in progress!)

How I came to Steemit

I had heard about Steemit through Reddit.com, but I was properly introduced to Steemit through @scottsantens and his posts over on Twitter.com http://twitter.com/scottsantens - then after I saw a lot of folks from http://Sola.ai (lots of fun) cross-posting to Steemit I felt that I should come and introduce myself here because it seems like a really great community!

I was inspired to advocate for UBI thanks to Scott and his amazing writing over here: https://medium.com/@2noame/latest - I highly recommend taking the time to read through his works. I'd also really love it if you took some time to read through mine: https://medium.com/@Mark4UBI/latest.

What is Universal Basic Income (UBI)?

If you don't know what UBI is I made this animated Gif to help explain it:

101_night-2.gif

Read more about it here: https://medium.com/@Mark4UBI/comprehending-universal-basic-income-c962da363fa

You probably have a lot of questions and that's normal, I'd be happy to try and answer any you may have. Most people are skeptical so they ask similar questions. So I spend a lot of my spare time advocating for UBI and showing how there is a lot of misunderstandings of UBI. It's great to be part of such a big global movement though: https://twitter.com/Mark4UBI/status/949730847392804864

I recently connected with advocates in Japan, thanks to Google Translate, which has since upgraded its translation capabilities and it is now really impressive, if you haven't tried it yet, definitely give it a go!

UBI is even starting to connect to the Cryptocurrency scene, through great initiatives like Manna Currency. http://twitter.com/mannacurrency - I hope to help raise awareness for them throughout 2018 and beyond. Most of the support for my advocation efforts come from my Patreon at http://patreon.com/stuartm - you can read a much longer and more detailed story on that page, if you're interested!

Why I'm so excited about Steemit that I joined

But what I am really here for is to talk to other 'Steemians'? Get connected to the Steemit community, share more of what I enjoy doing and hope it makes Steemit and the world a better place overall.

I'm planning on sharing (and hopefully making some more of) my music... http://soundcloud.com/aflare

.. videos, graphics, photos, writing, ideas, and other updates here and hope they will be well received. I really love keeping track of science and sharing interesting information about space, technology, maybe some cryptocurrency posts, so I expect to be making some posts in these categories soon and following and talking to other interesting 'Steemians'.

Here's a CC nonprofit video that I did about internet, technology, humanity, and hopefully how we will get to mars "soon" (hopefully, I guess thanks to Musk!):

Hope you enjoyed it, I hope to make more music like that soon, maybe Steemit can help me do that. Thanks truly for reading all of this. Wishing you Steemians a really great 2018. -Mark

Sort:  

Welcome :) Check out @dtube - Maybe you want to share your video Alive there! Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you @theaustrianguy and @welcoming, I'll post it up on @dtube soon!

Welcome! Nice to meet you. Come see my blog and vote. I upload beautiful and very interesting photos.

Thanks Ann I will check it out!

It's great to see you on here, Mark! Welcome to Steemit!

Same Scott, thank you!

hello, welcome to the stemit community. I invite you to my blog, give follow and vote for my last post.

Hi @idma thank you and congrats, love the dolphin photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51