Very First Post and Introduction

I am helping people to save this earth.

That is a big statement, right? And so it is. But it is my desire to show up in this world - every day- and do the best I can to make sure that my grandchildren and their grandchildren still have a beautiful place to live in.

Photo on 5-26-17 at 1.26 PM #2.jpg

What does that mean? What do I do?

Wearing many hats. One of them and one I am deeply in love with is being a podcaster. My co-host Jenise and I started the Sustainable Living Podcast over 2 years ago and have had a great time podcasting.

People seem to like what we have to say as well since we have ten-thousands of downloads every month. This is us this spring, recording episode 100. It was fun!!!

Episode 100.PNG

I am also one of the Directors of the Bancroft Center for Sustainability - I will talk about the center in a new post.

My other loves are Permaculture and my garden. But the biggest love in my life is my family. So, so important.
You will hear and see a lot about them.

That said, I have no idea how this platform works and it will probably take me a while to find my way around it.

For example, I watched a video showing how to format this post. BUT I can't see any formatting tools :(

I also see videos embedded in posts and can't find where and how to do it.

Can I publish my own content I published somewhere else, i.e. Facebook or Instagram? Or does everything need to be original to this platform?

Oh, so many questions!!!

Maybe you have some answers for me?

Sort:  

From your post I feel that you are a very lively person, hope that you will like it here on Steemit. Welcome @mariannewest! I can see that @topkpop answered all you questions about posting. You can get help so fast here, it is amazing. :))

Thank you!! I have great hopes for this platform :)

welcome

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by 343281538986803200 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Welcome to Steemit! Have you considered or even already done an episode about the idea of universal basic income and how it would enable greater sustainability?

Here's an article along these lines that I think could inspire a great episode for your listeners.

https://www.jacobinmag.com/2014/01/alive-in-the-sunshine

Cheers!

Thank you so much, Scott. This episode might be the closest http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/shifting-new-economy/ My co-host Jenise is super interested in alternative economic systems and has done a lot of interviews with people from the Transition Movement, Ubuntu, the Venus Project and so forth. And we are always open to talk to others about it. Especially people who are in practical applications. I am just learning about what blockchain is and crypto currency and all that. And how this platform works, for that matter. Appreciate all the help I can get :)

Welcome to Steem @mariannewest I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thank you!! So sweet of you!

Welcome! Yes you can post your own original content even if you posted it somewhere else. I post my youtube videos from time to time. It is easy to edit a post and add things once you get the hang of it. To add videos it's as simple as taking the link of the video and putting it into your post. Pictures are the same unless they are on your computer then you can just drag it into your writing and steemit will upload it in a way. Formatting follows markdown rules. I personally use MacDown since it's free and I am usually writing my posts on my mac. Hope some of those tips help. Again welcome!

It's funny, I was just thinking tonight about also adding Podcasts to my repertoire soon. If you like check out my page as well. Upvoted you :) Hope you enjoy Steemit.

Thank you so much!! Great info! If you are serious about starting a podcast, let's talk. Also, if you are on facebook, check out the ShePodcast group. It is run by my mentor Elsie Escobar who is a powerhouse in the podcasting world and a fierce advocate for women podcasters! I should have checked your profile first, but just for what it is worth, a huge podcasting conference is happening in Santa Ana, Southern Califonia next week. So much learning and connections to be made there! Thank you again for all the good info. One more question. Is there a way to bookmark posts?

I'm sure you are familiar with Earthships? They are the sustainable houses made out of recycled material that they build in Taos, New Mexico.

By the way YES you can post stuff you originally put on other site- many people here have their own youtube channels. You might get flagged by the bots at first but quote your sources and put quotes on copy paste's.

Thank you!! yes, I am familiar with earthships! So much exciting stuff we can do if we think outside of the box (house :)

You two look like... respectable people I want to hear things from.

I know if your videos are on youtube, you can simply insert the address, the one that shows in the address bar when you're watching the video. It should just show up in the preview that shows after the editor you type in. It might work that way for other sites, too. The formatting tools you saw referenced were for a previous version of this site. They no longer exist. (Steemit has changed a lot in the time it's been around, which is somewhat over a year.)

If you're showing your own stuff, you could probably just show it.

For anyone, I don't think it would be unwise to source superfluously if possible.

Google "steemit markdown" for relevant information.

Thank you so much. It helps to know that the tools aren't available anymore. I always think that I must not be looking in the right places (happens a lot too :). I will google it and figure out this formatting thing!
And if you do listen to us, we always love feedback and tips!!

And thank you for resteeming this post :)

Welcome! I hope you have fun on Steemit! We are growing fast and now you are one of us:-) I am a Brazilian writer and journalist, living in London. Here I post about photography, travel and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

Thank you, Marcelli. I for sure will check out what you are doing. Sounds interesting! Do you go to Brazil a lot? Must be so different from London!

Hello and welcome to Steemit family and our ever-growing platform. You have made a great decision by joining us and helping us to create decentralized entity that will change the way social media and other business models work in the future. I would like to help you out in your early days by using my steem power to upvote your first few posts. Simply follow my account and tag me by @czechglobalhosts in your posts and I will make sure to read your post and upvote you! Good luck and steem on! Tomas
Also check out this video that will help you to understand more about Steem and Steem Power! It worked out for me in my early days!

Thank you! I am sure I can use all the help I can get. Will tag you in future posts. And will watch the vdeo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78