Who Am I? 1st Post

"Who am I?" One of the most defining questions on earth that will cut straight into every person's sense of identity!

With thoughts racing to compile the "right" answer I might begin an attempt to answer by stating my academic accolades or the lack thereof, or maybe my vocation or job, my accomplishments or what other people say about me, or maybe even my self-image. But who I am, as with all (almost) 8 billion people on this planet, is greater than my academic accolades (or again the lack thereof), I am more than my vocation or job, deeper than my accomplishments, I surpass what other people say about me, and even more complex than my self-image. So here's to unique identity. Here's to "who I am"...
crop.jpg

I am Marcel Hendrik van der Merwe
An African by Heritage
Born in Cape Town, South Africa
Raised throughout the Republic of South Africa
A passionate Global citizen by choice

An African by Heritage

As perceptions on identity goes, we are often defined by others according to what seems visually obvious. From a quick glance I might be taken as a European visitor to Africa (an observation which would not entirely be unfounded), but such a shallow perspective view of my identity would belie my deep rooted heritage from not one but two continents.

In natural terms, I was born into the Afrikaner culture - a unique southern African people of mixed cultural and genetic origins, mainly of European settlers and strong influences of African "first people" herders. From the European side my ancestors included Dutch, German, French, Irish and Scottish settlers, and from the African side my ancestors included Khoikhoi, San, and traces of Xhosa peoples. This unique and beautiful blend of cultures, along with many other African, Asian and European cultures produced a nation so vibrant and colourful that to this day South Africans are known as the 'Rainbow Nation'. Into this southernmost part of Africa I came to be!

crop2.jpg

Born in Cape Town, South Africa

Cape Town, also known as the Mother City was the first European outpost to be established on what later came to be known and defined as the South African coastline. Founded in 1652 at the foot of Table Mountain (one of the World's 7 Wonders of Nature) and on the shores of Table Bay by the Dutch East India Company as a refreshment station, the town quickly grew into a melting pot of cultures, languages and culinary delights. But as the human settlements grew larger and larger, more and more wildlife and wild spaces had to be displaced by urban sprawl and human greed.

Into this beautiful bustling city of diversity I was born during the 90's. Cape Town awakened a love within me for diversity, it awakened a love within me for nature, it awakened within me a love for people, and it awakened within me a passion for life!

IMG-20160919-WA0019.jpg

Raised throughout the Republic of South Africa

Growing up as a PK or "Pastor's Kid" meant that we had to move a lot in my childhood days between towns and cities far and wide across the Republic of South Africa. During these relocations I got to know many new cultures and their respective interesting manners of life. In our travels we lived in the treeless pelagic fishing towns of the West Coast, the grasslands of Mpumalanga Highveld, the quintessential African acacia savannas of Limpopo, the semi-arid 'Ostrich Capital' of the Klein Karoo, and (most recently) the winelands of Durbanville Hills.

20160910_134032.jpg

A Passionate Global citizen by choice

Growing up in these vastly different locations instilled a deep passion for exploring and travelling the hidden roads and byways of our Planet Earth. Since my earliest childhood memories I have always been fascinated by diversity and biodiversity. Growing up in Africa gave me the benefit of experiencing raw nature often in its purest form. From elephants chasing our vehicle and lions making a wildebeest kill, to naughty baboons in the kitchen and zebra orphans. But the Africa of old is changing fast (as is the entire face of our shared planet Earth), and the wild open spaces are being filled as human needs increase. My love for people and my love for wilderness and wildlife have come to a clashing point. So now here to my fellow Steemians I introduce myself not only as African, but as a Global citizen who is concerned for the well-being of both my fellow humans and the planet that we call home along with all of its wonderful inhabitants...

My Contribution

Apart from my natural heritage, I am an ardent conservationist, naturalist, artist, traveler, youth pastor, and author involved in various projects which I will share with you my fellow Steemians - my passion for people, wildlife and open spaces. I will share on:

  1. Issues of Life & Humanity
  2. Travel (South Africa, Africa, and abroad)
  3. Nature & Conservation
  4. Rewilding & Restoration
  5. Spirituality

Thank you for making me a part of this Global Community!

Marcel van der Merwe II
https://www.facebook.com/MarcelvanderMerwejnr
https://www.facebook.com/RewildingTheLostWilderness

P.S. Let Me Know What You Think

If there is anything that you would like to know about me or what I am involved with, please don't hesitate to ask!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @marcel-hendrik! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi there @marcel-hendrik welcome to this wonderful community. I can see that Capetown has a lot of beautiful tourist spot. I might visit there one day who knows since me and my partner used to travel a lot. =)

Hi there @purepinay Thank you very much for the warm welcome! I will be sure to share more about the tourist attractions that Cape Town has to offer for when you get the chance to come down south.

Welcome Marcel :) I accidentally typed "Marvel", perhaps you are one too. Who knows!

Enjoy steemit

Haha thank you @doctoryak and hopefully it was a Marvel-ous discovery. Thank you for the kind welcome.

Welcome to steemit @marcel-hendrik have fun and enjoy your stay.. Looking forward for more post from you.. Would be glad if you follow me.. I just followed you. 😉

Thank you very much for the welcome wishes @annalorin28 and thank you for the follow.

Glad to have you as part of the community. Your contributions will be valuable!!

welcome to Steemit! I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future!!

Thank you Tom! I'll be on the lookout for you near the coast mate.

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love your photos, and I love people, travel, the beach, and some of the black people in Africa are stealing farms from others in South Africa. Not just stealing, but also raping, murdering, and stuff. It is very bad.

Hi Oatmeal Joey, I am glad that you like the photos! Yes there are many injustices in the world, including in my home country of South Africa. Luckily we are here on this Earth to make a change and as we speak out against injustice our voices will be heard.

Nice intro man, welcome! There is an amazing woman named @jaynie who runs Steemit Bloggers who also happens to be from Cape Town! Seems like you have a knack for it so thought I would mention it. Steem on!

Thank you for the kind words and the great head's up Austin @intothewild, I'll be sure to connect with @jaynie! All of the best from Cape Town.

Hi Marcel how are you? Really nice intro, i love it ! I’m a new steemit user as well and would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Thank you Anna :) I followed you back. Nice to meet you and glad to connect. Peace.CS

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love your photos, and I love people, travel, the beach, and some of the black people in Africa are stealing farms from others in South Africa. Not just stealing, but also raping, murdering, and stuff. It is very bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44