LET'S GET SPORTY - A CONTINUATION

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

After publishing my first introductory post (https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@maninchrist/greater-is-he-who-is-in-me), I just found myself feeling this enthusiasm to further share with you, guys, a particular side of me; which I don't usually talk about but actually gets me enliven whenever I get to have the chance to be such.

...

When I was younger, being a female was a burden to me. Hahaha yeah, it was really a burden. Because I thought that being a female meant that you got to act like how a "female" should act - modest, demure, and soft (these were how I saw females back then). 

On the contrary, being surrounded by my male cousins as I was growing up, it became very unnatural for me to behave and conduct myself in a "girly" way. I had rather enjoyed being outgoing, spontaneous, and carefree (but oftentimes, this carefree became careless, hahaha). Being "boyish" became their constant description of me (though, outwardly I agreed with them, still, my female heart was reservedly untouched and preserved inside of me, hehe).

Now that I am already in the quarter life, I realized that being a male or a female is not a matter of position, but rather, of function. God was never wrong in creating males as males and females as females. We were wonderfully created to be equal yet we were also privileged to have our respective functions. 

But if there was one thing that I'm grateful for with me growing up with boys, it would be my interest in sports.

So now, I am going to share with you the sports, which I tried and those which I am into. :) 

(Disclaimer: I am no pro in all the sports, which I will mention. But as for me, doing something that interests you is more enjoyable than doing something you're only good at. :))

1) Archery

I have only tried archery once, yet the feeling of doing it still lingers on. Initially, I found it quite numbing in the arms because the bow was really weighty (not mentioning my weak arms). But as the number of arrows I shot increased, I gradually got comfortable and enjoyed the rest of the game.

( Seeing this photo, I suddenly remembered the feeling when I was about to shoot the arrow. I felt like I was Katniss Everdeen of The Hunger Games (I wish you know her, haha). )

2) Bowling

For the past 3 years, bowling has been one of the constant sports I am into. I started to love this game since I tried it with my brothers and sisters in Christ in our district. Playing bowling has been our favorite hangout whenever we would want to have cherishing meetings with the new and younger saints. :)  

( Usually, I use ball #8. Mainly because it has the heaviest manageable weight for me. All balls over #8 would surely bring me down (both literally and figuratively, hahaha). ) 

3) Badminton

Like bowling, badminton is another game that we often play. Aside from its basic mechanics, it is also easy to find badminton courts within our area because of the sport's familiarity and popularity, especially to us Filipinos. :)

( I usually play badminton together with my workmates, who are also my brothers and sisters in Christ. :)  This is our little way of exercising because most of us are not really into having individual workouts, hahaha). )

4) Not Fully Surfing But Not Fully Kayaking Either (Hahaha)

Let me take another laugh at it, hahaha. If you cannot understand the description, worry not, me neither. :)) Just look at this photo because I do not really know how to describe it, hahaha.

( Can you honestly help me determine what I was doing there? Haha. I thought it was surfing but the instructor said it was kayaking, he even taught me how to do it. But seeing this now, after 2 years, I still am in doubt if it really was kayaking, hahaha. Anyway, I only tried it for free because the instructor also came from my hometown; because of his gladness, he waived the rental fee. Good soul. :) This was taken in Boracay, Philippines. )

Aside from these four, I also am into playing basketball and billiards. Just got no photos to share of me actually enjoying them, hehe. 

There you go. I hope this continuation post has further introduced me to you, guys. Keep steemin'! :)

BONUS INFORMATION:

( Nope, I'm not into motocross. That's actually way too extreme for me, haha. This was just my creative shot during our college graduation pictorial, hahaha. I just wanted to have a feel of it again. So cool. :D And I thought this might be a cool way to end this let's-get-sporty post. :)) )

God bless you all. :)


Sort:  

hola! I like your post! Thanks for it! I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? I also just wrote a introduce yourself. Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://busy.org/introduceyourself/@mykarma/1-jail-review-bitcoins-3-years-ago

Hello. 🙂 Thank you. 🙂 Okay, may we contribute to make Steemit a better place for all the bloggers. 🙂

I thought you were in motocross too! And yes that's kayaking! haha

@cclcantos Yep, in my dreams haha. 😂 Oh, okay, I thought kayaking involves something like a small boat. Hehe. Thank you! 🙂

Thank you for the post and the blessing. The sports you have experienced are commonly done by girls in the US. Is it unusual in the Philippines for girls to do archery? I bowled when I was younger, but not in the last 20 years. I realized I was more angry and frustrated when I finished than when I started. For this reason I don't golf either. Nor do I start conversations with my wife of 48 years : )

I don't think archery is already a main sport for girls here in the Phils. But some are actually doing it now. :) What I meant was, if I didn't grow up with my male cousins around me, maybe, I shouldn't have been as exposed to physical activities as I'd been. :) Oh, I'm sorry to hear that..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65