Traveling Biochemist and Circus Freak

“My body is the earth and my head is in the stars.” ~Harold and Maude (1971)
FB_IMG_1511315696993.jpg

This quote from the 1971 American cult classic, Harold and Maude, has resonated quite harmonically with my 20 years of life. From early childhood my passions have been rooted into the earth. My inner scientist first exposed herself with a romantic view of death. Many of the intricacies that give life can not be observed until the body has transitions into a state of death.

Screenshot_20171121-203522.png

The curiosity that named me the creepy kid in elementary school turned me into a rockstar at organic chemistry. Recent years have shifted my interests in the direction of alternative, earth based medicine and ecological patterns. Upcoming post will discuss:

  1. Combating lymes disease with naturopathic medicine.
  2. The magic of mushrooms and birds.
  3. Why I'm a vegan who promotes deer hunting.

IMG_20171108_150809261.jpg

Did you know the average migratory bird will fly 4 times the distance of the moon and back in it's lifetime? My journey is one that seeks to match this distance. At age 18 I boarded a plane to Israel with nothing but a tent a backpack and a unicycle. With wanderlust as my compass I have not stopped traveling since.

FB_IMG_1511316502184.jpg
(Me at Midburn: Middle Eastern Burning Man in Israel)

FB_IMG_1511317255597.jpg
(Market in the old city of Jerusalem)

My most recent adventure landed me with no money, living in a house van traveling the Mediterranean coast of Europe. These were the days of circus street performance and dumpster diving adventures. After five months this adventure came to an unexpected close due to a crippling infection of lymes disease. Still, the quest is never complete. One week from today I leave on a one way plane to Columbia. The magic of the Amazon tipped my compass south.

FB_IMG_1511317415276.jpg
(Rainbow gathering Spain)

Memories are the result of time; lessons are it's compensation. Upcoming posts will share stories old and new including:
Why border patrol is scared of hippies.
Living and traveling with no money.
Discoveries from the Colombian Amazon.

También, estoy aprendiendo español. Mientras aprendo más quiero tener publicacións en español. Cambiando mi mente para entender una idioma segunda está abriendo mi comprensión de la mundo.

Please comment if you have resonated with anything from my story. The communication of like-minded individuals is the amplification and expansion of an idea. This is called community and community is powerful.

¡Encantado!

Sort:  

Congratz you got quite a few upvotes already. Good start. Cant wait to read more from you!

hi. you seem to be having a good time.

I absolutly am! These past years have set my expectation of obscurity accurately high

Hey there

welcome! to the steem room!

Hi, Thanks for all the warm welcomes. I posted this three times mistakingly and I'm not sure how to correct this.

Welcome to steemit! We need more circus freaks around here!

Thanks! I hope you enjoy my posts :)

Can't wait, but just to let you know I see you posted this three times, your only meant to do an intro post once, some people might get annoyed just a heads up!

Ya there was an error message when I whent to post it so I refreshed and tried again. Same message. Then I closed the page and tried again. Same message. Turned out it worked all three times and I couldnt figure out if there was a way to delete two... Rooky mistake

LOL oh yes they should put a warning about that, it's been happening a lot since the last update, next time if it says transaction error open a new page and check if it is posted on your blog already :)

Welcome aboard chica loca! :P

If you're going to post under #science, consider checking the @steemstem project (with the homonymous tag #steemstem). You'll find plenty of quality STEM posts there too ;)

Wishing you a happy stay!

Thank you so much! I had read this blog the other day but forgot to follow and couldn't find them. They share very quality articles

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86